We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly, Japanese in Sidney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Toyko

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of Toyko
9842 Resthaven Drive, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1Z6, Canada
+1 250-656-6862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 77 Restaurants in Sidney
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Mississippi
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Surprisingly, Japanese in Sidney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Japanese is one of my favorite genres, so I try to stop at a place like this wherever I go (especially Tokyo, but that's another review session). I wasn't terribly hungry, so I had miso soup, sashimi, and sake. The service was very attentive and friendly, and the food was of solid quality.

Particularly, try the surf clam sashimi. I've never had that anywhere else, but it's a sweet and tender alternative to octopus. All told, the experience was a good one. If you like classic Japanese, you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just ok. We had the dinner buffet. Too expensive for what you get. We probably won't
Be back. Service was good tho. Didn't really have any idea what we were
Eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Can't Make Sushi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Review of Saturday night bufffet:

Sushi rice should be individual grains that stick together with a hint of sweet vinegar in the taste. I'm sorry, but this restaurant can't make sushi rice properly, and that mush that the fish sits in/on ruined the sushi for me. If you want real sushi, go to an a la carte restaurant or go to Victoria to Shiki sushi. This is the quality of sushi you would typically find at a Chinese buffet (although with a wider selection), not an authentic Japanese restaurant.

Their hot (warm) foods are generally better. The oyster motoyaki doesn't appear to have anything oyster beyond the shell -- just frozen peas and corn drenched in Japanese mayo baked in an oyster shell. The snow crab was good, though, and if you stick to the crab and other hot food it could make for a reasonably good dinner.

Hadn't been here in years, a group was going so I tried it again. Will probably not be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Saturday night buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice experience. I love Japanese food and was looking forward to trying this place and the buffet. I enjoyed the variety of foods offered including the not so traditional dishes that we got to try. Service was wonderful with a super friendly waitress who was also very informative. If you need to know what something is just ask, they would be thrilled to fill you in. Definitely a place I would eat at again next time we are in town. Thanks for a fun evening.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Toyko also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Taste of Toyko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Toyko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.