We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Restaurant Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Glass Waterfront Grill

Sea Glass Waterfront Grill
2320 Harbour Road, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 2P6, Canada
+1 778-351-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Sidney
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“New Restaurant Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This location has had many incarnations and we were interested to see what the latest offering would be. The restaurant is located in the northern end of Sidney, in the marina area. There is lots of parking available. The room is bright and airy with nice touches of stained glass work in the windows. As with its previous incarnations the room maintains its many hard surfaces, which look nice but make for a noisy experience when the room is full.

The first two times we visited we went for breakfast, which was excellent. We visited during the winter and it was very quiet. As the boating season heats up I would expect that the mornings will be busier. The breakfast menu covers the usual suspects - eggs, omelettes, French toast, anything you can think off. All prepared with quality ingredients.

We recently visited for dinner on a Saturday night - we called late in the day and they were able to squeeze us in. There was a guitarist providing live music, which was nice, but if you want to talk ask for a table by the window.

Dinner entrees range around $24 - at our table we had the cioppinno and two orders of the snapper special. One of our party made a dinner out of items from the appetizer menu. We didn't have any wine that night so can't comment on that.

The room was nice and the food was good. It was a busy night, which meant that the service was a bit haphazard.

One small irritation - why doesn't the restaurant have a local number? The phone number is a Vancouver local, which means I must dial long distance to reach the restaurant just up the road.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    33
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD BUT NOT OUTSTANDING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Last evening was the second time I have dined at Sea Glass in the last two months, the first time being for lunch and the past evening for dinner. I'll give the quality of the food full marks albeit it a bit pricey in comparison with another waterfront restaurant in Sidney. The restaurant is small and therefore you have the feeling of being a bit crowded and the noise level is quite high likely due to large windows which reflect sound and which surround the dining area but which nonetheless provide a nice view of the adjoing marina. Service was a bit rushed I felt but adequate. My biggest negative is a rather limited but quite pricey wine list with prices ranging from $37 - $40 per bottle for mid-level domestic and imported wine. With entrees, wine, dessert and coffee, a couple can plan on parting with around $100 not including tip. Overall it is a pleasant place to dine and its upside clearly being the excellent preparation and presentation of the main courses. Very good but not outstanding would be our view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went for dinner with a group of 8 for a birthday celebration. The "birthday boy" had been there for lunch and was so impressed, suggested we go there for dinner. The restaurant opened in Oct 2012 and is a lovely size to host a group, but not so big you lose the intimacy. The restaurant is waterfront in Sidney by the Van Isle Marina, so the view was wonderful. They offer a varied menu, and between all of us, we ordered a variety of appies, main courses and desserts. We all loved what we chose, and found our waiter to be attentive, but not hovering around us. They also had a solo guitarist playing a variety of dinner music which we enjoyed. I have attached pictures of some of our meals as we thought the presentation was beautiful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food! Good view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Sea Glass has great menu for all palates which is reasonably priced and exceptionally tasty! Recently, we enjoyed dinner of the Western Cioppino and BC Salmon. The Cioppino was a mixture of salmon, scallops, mussels, clams and potatoes in a delicious herb tomato broth. The BC Salmon was balanced on a very tasty risotto cake and spinach, fresh baby carrots and topped with fresh greens. The salmon could of been cooked a little less. We thought about the housemade desserts with looked delightful, especially the chocolate hazelnut flourless torte but were too full! That said, an all-round great dinner with good service and nice ambiance. Definitely be back again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not what I would expect here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have eaten in this spot several times without issue, reviewed it the first time and now again. Today I was less than impressed, the food has been amazing to date, and that was no exception today. Unfortunately, today the service was not great, with the restaurant only half full we were seated immediately and y daughter and I sat chatting after we had decided on what to order, we chatted for a long time, 10 minutes... no one asked if we would like a drink, no one brought us or even offered water. When we were able to attract the attention of our server (the co-owner) and enquired if there were any gluten free options for a burger bun I was told indignantly no... ok so a burger on lettuce it is. In today's culture, they really have no gluten free options? Well that makes the choice for us to return here soon easy. It is unfortunate, the food here is amazing. As a new bustling restaurant in this town, you can't rest on the laurels of good food, the quality of the service must be equal in quality to that of the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Waterfront Grill also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sea Glass Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Glass Waterfront Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.