We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD BUT NOT OUTSTANDING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Glass Waterfront Grill

Sea Glass Waterfront Grill
2320 Harbour Road, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 2P6, Canada
+1 778-351-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
North Saanich, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD BUT NOT OUTSTANDING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Last evening was the second time I have dined at Sea Glass in the last two months, the first time being for lunch and the past evening for dinner. I'll give the quality of the food full marks albeit it a bit pricey in comparison with another waterfront restaurant in Sidney. The restaurant is small and therefore you have the feeling of being a bit crowded and the noise level is quite high likely due to large windows which reflect sound and which surround the dining area but which nonetheless provide a nice view of the adjoing marina. Service was a bit rushed I felt but adequate. My biggest negative is a rather limited but quite pricey wine list with prices ranging from $37 - $40 per bottle for mid-level domestic and imported wine. With entrees, wine, dessert and coffee, a couple can plan on parting with around $100 not including tip. Overall it is a pleasant place to dine and its upside clearly being the excellent preparation and presentation of the main courses. Very good but not outstanding would be our view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    39
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went for dinner with a group of 8 for a birthday celebration. The "birthday boy" had been there for lunch and was so impressed, suggested we go there for dinner. The restaurant opened in Oct 2012 and is a lovely size to host a group, but not so big you lose the intimacy. The restaurant is waterfront in Sidney by the Van Isle Marina, so the view was wonderful. They offer a varied menu, and between all of us, we ordered a variety of appies, main courses and desserts. We all loved what we chose, and found our waiter to be attentive, but not hovering around us. They also had a solo guitarist playing a variety of dinner music which we enjoyed. I have attached pictures of some of our meals as we thought the presentation was beautiful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food! Good view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Sea Glass has great menu for all palates which is reasonably priced and exceptionally tasty! Recently, we enjoyed dinner of the Western Cioppino and BC Salmon. The Cioppino was a mixture of salmon, scallops, mussels, clams and potatoes in a delicious herb tomato broth. The BC Salmon was balanced on a very tasty risotto cake and spinach, fresh baby carrots and topped with fresh greens. The salmon could of been cooked a little less. We thought about the housemade desserts with looked delightful, especially the chocolate hazelnut flourless torte but were too full! That said, an all-round great dinner with good service and nice ambiance. Definitely be back again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not what I would expect here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have eaten in this spot several times without issue, reviewed it the first time and now again. Today I was less than impressed, the food has been amazing to date, and that was no exception today. Unfortunately, today the service was not great, with the restaurant only half full we were seated immediately and y daughter and I sat chatting after we had decided on what to order, we chatted for a long time, 10 minutes... no one asked if we would like a drink, no one brought us or even offered water. When we were able to attract the attention of our server (the co-owner) and enquired if there were any gluten free options for a burger bun I was told indignantly no... ok so a burger on lettuce it is. In today's culture, they really have no gluten free options? Well that makes the choice for us to return here soon easy. It is unfortunate, the food here is amazing. As a new bustling restaurant in this town, you can't rest on the laurels of good food, the quality of the service must be equal in quality to that of the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise after a long day on the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by boat at the Van Isle Marina for the first time. It was later on a Sunday evening and I had not eaten since breakfast so I was anxious for a meal. To my surprise the Sea Glass Waterfront Grill was right at the top of the ramp to the marina.
It was a lovely evening and the restaurant was full when I arrived so I anticipated a wait but I was seated immediately at the bar. I was pleased to find that everything on their menu was gluten free with one exception that they offered to modify for me if I chose that item. Pecan chicken was delicious and vegs were fresh and properly cooked.
Nice atmosphere with guitar player strumming in a corner.
Can't wait to come back when it's warmer and try their deck and watch the sunset over the marina.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Waterfront Grill also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sea Glass Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Glass Waterfront Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.