We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Corner

Thai Corner
2359 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3G8, Canada
778-426-4680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 73 restaurants in Sidney
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Nimpo Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I really, really wanted to try the buffet at this restuarant while we were down on our once a year trip to Victoria. First, it was no longer on Resthaven but we found it on the main street in Sydney. It was closed, and wouldn't be open until the next day, January 3rd. We reworked our shedule for that Friday since it would be our only chance to try it and met with friends there just before noon. First of all, the place really smelled old and stale and kind of like urine. I think if they were going to move into new digs they should have repainted and maybe replaced the old flooring.
It didn't matter to me because I was sure the food would be terrific. It wasn't. It was bloody awful! I don't even know what that mess in each buffet container was supposed to be. Oh wait, I recognized the chicken wings. Otherwise, the soups had little flavor and the other dishes had even less. One of our friends said it wasn't so bad if you went back up and put a bunch of hot sauce and other flavorings that they had at the end of the buffet table on the food. I tried that and it honestly didn't improve it one bit. Now it just tasted gross with spicy hot sauce on it. I felt especially badly because we invited our friends there but they insisted on paying for it. Frankly, that meal was not worth two cents much less over $12 per person. I can't recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    6
    2
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“New location. Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We showed up right on time for our reservation only to be told they had no record of it. The place was full and we were asked to sit at the bar. Half an hour later after being completely ignored, we were shown a table. Another half an hour and a waitress came with menus. Our order taken, we waited another half hour, again being completely ignored, one of four dishes we ordered arrived on it's own. No explanation or apology. It took 90 minutes in all from the time we arrived until our meal finally arrived. Needless to say, we have no idea how the food was given the disgraceful service. I accept that the restaurant was full and this was a new location, but we were treated with no respect. Certainly we won't return. If this place doesn't get their act together quickly, they won't have any customers to ignore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Buffett”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I rate this average because I've had take-out dinner here and it's way overpriced for the quality of the food. That said, they do a $12 all you can eat Lunch Buffett that is great.

Also, the two women who run this place are so sweet and friendly that I want them to succeed. I just wish they'd put their prices in-line with the quality of the food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice staff not a substitute for quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have had several meals at Thai Corner, primarily due to work-related lunches that are social in nature. The owner and her staff (typically her family) are lovely.

However, our food is erratic. At times, the portions are incredibly tiny, thus making the prices seem outrageous. Indeed, the served plate can appear to be a huge mound of rice with little else. The cook also does not appear to understand "mild" requests for some of the items on the menu. The spring rolls are terrible.

We have not tried the buffet because there are no vegetarian options on the buffet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“How Lucky can a Neighbourhood Get?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thai Corner restaurant is a tiny establishment on Resthaven Drive in north Sidney. We found them at the Sidney Summer Market last summer, and have watched them get busier and busier as word has spread of their delicious moderately priced Thai food.
Eat In or Take Out - you will not be sorry!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Corner also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Thai Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.