We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Bunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Cafe

Toast Cafe
2400 Bevan Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1W1, Canada
(250) 665-6234
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Sidney
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best of the Bunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Sidney is a town full of bookstores and coffeehouses. Competition is fierce. I'm a big fan of Serious Coffee, but Toast Cafe is the closest to Beacon Inn, where we always stay (best B&B in Sidney). The place is roomy and friendly with a very good decaf mocha. We got a sandwich for the ferry. The key is that Toast is not on the main commercial street (Beacon) where most of the other coffeehouses are. It is one block over. If you are walking into town from the ferry, it is three or four blocks to your left on Bevan Avenue. It's worth the walk.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Service and Food were excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

They ran out of some items, so they offered options, which I was very happy with. Plus, the coffee was excellent. We were also rushing to catch the ferry ... so they understood and got the order out quickly. What can else could one ask for from a café?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favourite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love the fun atmosphere at Toast, the raspberry matcha blended drink is fabulous!! I also like the variety of baked goods and lunch items!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“very friendly staff bt a bit chaotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was surprised at how friendly the staff were. The seating is a bit awkward with various forms more like a Starbucks arrangement than a restaurant. Tuekey sandwich was very good and priced well. I am not a fan of bar type seating though would have liked a table.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average food/coffee, high noise levels even when not crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Toast has friendly staff, and an informal setting with historic rock posters, etc. However, the coffee and food is average. The space itself is impossible for socializing due to high noise levels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Cafe also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Toast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.