We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2306 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Sidney
Nanoose Bay, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“what a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

What a wonder stay we had after a day of shopping in Victoria. My daughter and I had never been to Sydney before and we wanted to go and do some sight seeing on Sunday morning before we headed home. We spent the day shopping in Victoria and had dinner with friends. We easily navigated to Sydney and found our hotel. There was plenty of parking and we had a room on the first floor. It was very spacious an emaculately clean. I have never had such a good night's sleep in such a comfortable hotel bed. The bathroom had a spa like feel to it. The towels were so fluffy and the shower was great! When I woke Sunday morning I felt as if I had slept in my own bed. We enjoyed breakfast at a nearby restaurant and walked around in the sunshine. What a great place to stay and I look forward to returning in the near future..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are sincerley happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Best Western Emerald Isle Motor Inn. Your review was great and we appreciate your comments - it helps us to know we are indeed on the right path to exceeding our Guest's expectations!
We hope to see you again in Sidney-by-the-Sea,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
39
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

No paper, get paper, no ink, no PDF reader, no help for the PC
This is a PC in the lobby, NO Business center here
Printing boarding passes at the airort again
This place is old

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Greetings from Sidney-by-the-Sea.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. I apologize sincerely that our lobby business centre did not meet your expectations, as that is what we strive to do on a daily basis - in fact, exceeding our Guest's expectations is the goal. We have assigned one specific Staff Member to monitor the paper and ink levels to avoid this inconvenience ocurring again.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to the area so that we may have another opportunity to make things right.

Thank you again for letting me know about the printer problems.

Yours truly,

T.Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011 via mobile

Wow! I must say I am impressed! This place is absolutley spotless! The beds are extra squishy soft! nice quality sheets, lots of towels and amenities. What a treat to stay in a hotel with such obvious attention to detail! $150 (including taxes) for the night and that included parking for a week

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Greetings from Sidney-by-the-Sea. Thank you for sharing your review of our Hotel. We do strive to make our guests feel comfortable in every way possible. It is so important to us, to know we are accomplishing that goal and that you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you again for your patronage.
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Nice room, friendly service, conveniently located in the heart of Sidney by the sea, BC. Affordable home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete an online review of your recent stay at the Best Western Emerald Isle in Sidney-by-the-Sea!

We are so glad that you had a great stay with us. We really appreciate the positive feedback and I will definitely pass your comments on to the Hotel Team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not to distant future when you are next in the area.

Best Regards of the Season!

Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Great location, clean spacious rooms, with friendly curtious staff, made this "smaller" Hotel feel like a "Grand" one. Restuarant on site was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for your positive review and your patronage. We appreciate having you as our guest and your kind comments of our Hotel and Staff. We use these reviews to improve our overall guest experience and truly appreciate your taking the time to post on our behalf!
We hope to have another opportunity to see you again soon!
Yours truly,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I disagree with the previous reviewer who was not happy with her check-in experience. I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times over the years, and I've never had a poor check-in experience. Quite the contrary. There is very little turnover with the staff, as the same people are there, year after year. I find them to be extremely helpful and polite.

This property is always upgrading their rooms, and it's rare that you'll find a cleaner, more inviting lobby. Most rooms have a little area with a bar sink, fridge, microwave and a counter. Bathrooms are spotless.

This hotel doesn't offer a free breakfast but it is attached to Smitty's restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The location was very suitable to our travel plans. Ex :Safeway and Scotiabank close by.
Excellent Bus service, close to the Victoria International Airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea! We here at the Best Western Emerald Isle are dedicated to providing only the best possible service for all of our Guests. We are pleased to know the location and amenities of our seaside town worked out so conveniently for you and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Sincerely,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Best Western Emerald Isle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn

Address: 2306 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle in Sidney-by-the-Sea. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria Internation Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Centre is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as BookTown with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.