We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2306 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Clean, quiet, and lush for a good price. With 25% off at Smittys Restaurant for breakfast, this is where you want to hang your hat for a night.

Room Tip: ask for instructions on how to use the alarm clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Vancouver, Canada. Sincere thanks for your kind comments of our hotel. We so appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
48
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was fortunate enough to spend a few nights at this hotel at the beginning and the end of my stay in Sidney. The front desk staff were very efficient and friendly, even after I changed my reservations (extended my stay, was having such a fantastic time) No hassels ! The rooms were very neat, tidy and clean. All the staff had a smile on their face, which was nice to see. Convienently located near the airport and a 5 minute walk to the ocean. Awesome !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Greetings from Sidney-by-the-Sea! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and in our charming seaside town. We pride ourselves on maintaining high standards at our property, and it is so nice to be assured we are getting it right! We have a great Team here, with many long term staff - we like to feel we are hosting our Guests in our own homes. Thank you again for taking the time, it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here so we could conveniently catch an early flight at the Victoria International Airport. We were warmly welcomed by the staff, checked into a well decorated and spotless room, and overall were very impressed. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Joberg; Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. The entire Team here sees all reviews, and we are all so pleased that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable place to rest before a day of traveling.

It is through folks like you who take the time to share, that enables us to know we are on track with our goals of being The Place to Stay in lovely Sidney-by-the-Sea!

We hope to see you again soon, and happy travels!

Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here at the end of the summer for a conference being held at the nearby Mary Winspear Centre. With over 300 delegates, we pretty much flooded this quiet little town, but they seemed to take it in stride.

Every part of my Emerald Isle human experience was outstanding, from the initial contact via phone and then email, to the warm welcome on arrival, through to departure.

The room was very clean, comfortable, and pretty much as good as I've seen at a basic two-story motel like this one.

I stayed in a second-floor room facing towards the highway (about a block away) but was never bothered by any noise. I went to sleep pretty much as soon as my head hit the pillow each night.

I would absolutely recommend this to people in town on business, staying over to catch a flight, or to anyone wanting to check out the great local restaurants or attractions such as the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre or the BC Aviation Museum (wow!).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Hello from Sidney-by-the-Sea! The secret must be out: This is a charming little town!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I see you are a frequent traveler and know what to expect, so we are very pleased we have hit the target, so-to-speak. We have a wonderful relationship with the Mary Winspear Centre, and look forward to hosting delegates year round at their fine facility - as you say, just a short walk across the street.

We all look forward to seeing you again one day and thank you again, it is greatly appreciated.

Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I WISH I had stayed here longer. The room was lovely, the location seemed perfect. Unfortunately, this was just a resting spot after a long day of work and before an early morning flight out. I would highly recommend a longer stay here. It is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the beautiful water views. The front desk staff is fantastic: friendly & knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Solowoman. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon and that you can stay a bit longer next time!
Happy travels!
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband & I often stay here before an early morning flight or an early ferry. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. We like having a small refrigerator for drinks and snacks. There is a good selection of channels on the tv. We like to stop at Smittys for breakfast at dinner & take the leftovers for the morning. That way we can make coffee and have a snack before heading to the airport.

My daughter's only com paint was that the Internet was a little slow. It was wireless and included, though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Greetings XQU, and thank you so much for your review of your stay with us in Sidney-by-the-Sea. We are pleased our room amenities make your stay more comfortable. It is through comments such as yours that help us to know we continue to be on the right path towards exceeding our Guest's expectations. Thank you again for taking the time!
We hope to see you again soon,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Located on the main strip in Sidney, minutes away from the BC Ferries terminal and even closer from Victoria airport. Also accessible by public transit. Clean, well maintained, large rooms. Fridge, microwave. Restaurants and supermarket within walking distance. About a 30 min. drive to downtown Victoria (depending on traffic).

No pool; just a small jacuzzi (clean).

Of note though is the fact that no breakfast is offered. Staff told us that they were in the process of constructing a breakfast area. In the meantime, they offer a measly 25% off at the adjoining restaurant called "Smitties".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mngr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear jmcjmc.
Thank you for your review of our Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. It is through comments such as yours that help us continue to provide top quality service and accommodations. We are fortunate to have Smitty's Family Restaurant connected to us as they serve a great breakfast anytime! A substantial morning discount for our Hotel Guests is available until we are able to implement a breakfast room in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Best Regards,
Thaylin Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn

Address: 2306 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle in Sidney-by-the-Sea. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria Internation Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Centre is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as BookTown with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.