We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bc ferries good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BC Ferries

BC Ferries
11300 Patricia Bay Highway, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3S8, Canada
888-223-3779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Sidney
Activities: Whale watching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These ferries are a great way to see the islands of British Columbia.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Aurora, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bc ferries good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a positive experience with the ferries we used while in Seattle and BC. We were prepared, though and bought out tickets before we left. The line up from Nanaimo to Vancouver was really huge! but they loaded us very quickly and the trip over was smooth. The only disappointment was no Nanaimo bars on the ferry cafeteria. It's a good thing I visited the mall at the ferry terminal beforehand,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We are pleased to hear that you found our loading process quick and efficient. We do our best to ensure the travel experience for our customers is as seamless as possible. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to purchase a Nanaimo bar on board – we are constantly changing and adding new menu items!

Thank you for sailing with us and we look forward to welcoming you on board again soon.

Kind regards,

Justine – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    411
    186
    68
    102
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“When you have no choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

BC Ferries is pretty much the only way to get to and from the mainland, as an Island resident I have few choices. Although the ships are very good and the services available are widely varied the prices are those reflected by a monopoly. The crossing is pleasant and the ships are mostly on time. During peak hours there are often waits of several hours just to board. If it is important to be on a specific sailing, be sure to reserve at a cost of $15.00. I Have few complaints about the service but the prices are prohibitive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for providing a review of our services. Your continued patronage is greatly appreciated and we are happy to hear that you enjoy sailing on our vessels.

We apologize for the negative impression you have in regards to ferry fares. Ferry fares and service levels are mandated by the BC Ferry Commission, through the Coastal Ferry Act, which is a contract we have with the Provincial Government. The cost of providing service has been rising due to costs of fuel, maintenance, labor and capital cost of asset replacement. BC Ferries must be run in a financially responsible manner. Please know that our financial decisions are not made to cause hardship to our customers, but to ensure our customers have a safe, sustainable service for a long time to come.

We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon.

Kind regards,

Justine – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesley, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Inside passage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved our ride. October is so quiet. We sailed from prince Rupert south to port hardy and enjoyed the whole experience. Cabin was a very good value. Clean. Well appointed for a ferry. Movies at night in the lounge were fun. Now the FOOD! They try!!! But it is a bit better than school cafeteria but they have wine and beer. The staff were all very helpful. Ran on time. Really doesn't matter if u get inside or outside cabin as you just sleep in there. Local bus(yellow school bus) charges 8 to take you into port hardy

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip on the Inside Passage with us! We are pleased to hear that you found the cabins clean and comfortable. The movie lounge is always a hit with our customers and we are glad that you had a fun time enjoying this amenity.

Thanks again for sailing with us; we look forward to welcoming you on board again soon!

Kind regards,

Justine – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reliable service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful scenery makes the 1/12 hr ride go fast. Food available, not great but most fast food isn't Expensive buffet is available , never tried but looked very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am born & raised on Vancouver Island & always enjoy taking BC Ferries - I hear a lot of complaining from fellow islanders about the ferries - firstly, I would like to say they made the choice to live on an island, taking the ferries is a chance to relax from driving while enjoying spectacular scenery & possible wild life & while the fares may be considered expensive, how much do other boat rides cost? As far as service goes, I happen to know that the person on cash (or anyone else on the ship including those who clean toilets) are highly trained to save passengers lives in the event of emergency- the job you see them doing is actually secondary..for visitors, I am sure they would find the experience very good in anticipation to coming to a beautful island...there are many services on board which you may partake in or not...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Customer Care Representative at BC Ferries, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our services. I am glad to hear of your positive experiences with BC Ferries as customer satisfaction is very important to us. We are certainly very luck to operate in such a beautiful area as the West Coast of British Columbia!

We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon!

Kind regards,
Amy – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BC Ferries also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to BC Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BC Ferries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.