We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a mini-cruise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BC Ferries

BC Ferries
11300 Patricia Bay Highway, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3S8, Canada
888-223-3779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Sidney
Activities: Whale watching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These ferries are a great way to see the islands of British Columbia.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Almost like a mini-cruise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Yes, the BC Ferries are expensive, but I was fortunate to be travelling for work. It was a beautiful 1.5 hours (make sure you have a reservation). Once you get past the cost, which is what keeps this rating from being excellent, the ship and the scenery are world class and the Pacific Buffet was fantastic, with as many types of foods and desserts as one person could ask for. We were able to see a pod of whales on our 5:00 pm crosssing and the weather was bright and sunny. If you are a tourist or a resident, spend the money at least once on your trip or once per year and experience this spectacular trip!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Manager at BC Ferries, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for providing us with such a lovely review of our services.

There is something quite special about traveling through the Gulf Islands, enjoying a hot meal in the Pacific Buffet, and having a pod of Orcas swim by you. I would imagine there are very few places, one of which, Beautiful British Columbia where you could enjoy an experience like this!

Kind regards,
Megan – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    411
    185
    68
    102
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“WONDERFUL TIME AND THE PASSENGER ONLY RATES CAN'T BE BEAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

timely and the views spectacular - we even saw humpback hales and the pilot was the one to tell all of us abut them jumping out there - nice touch!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Money Grabber”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of the biggest money grabbers in the province. What ever happened to the highways we used to have. Now it's "gouge" the riders as much as possible and then cry foul because they're not making as much profit. Hmmmmm, wonder why not as many people ride any more?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Manager at BC Ferries, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding our fares for travel.

While we appreciate that the current status of the economy as a whole has customers paying close attention to their finances, the cost of providing service is directly related to the increasing costs of fuel, maintenance, labour and the capital cost of asset replacement.

It was, and is not our intention to make the ferry fares unattainable for our customers to travel. We value your option greatly and encourage you to also share your thoughts with the BC Ferry Commission http://www.bcferrycommission.com/ as they regulate the fares and service levels here at BC Ferries.


Best regards,
Megan – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria B.C.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“World Class Ferries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

As a resident of BC I find the ferries a bit too expensive to ride all the time but the boats and the scenery are all world class. I usually take the Swartz Bay ferry over to the mainland.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahat, bc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“WOW”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's not a cruise ship its the only way to get on and off the island by car/bus/RV. The price is set way above many budgets. Good food and nice seating are avail however a lower price would be better.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCFCustomerCare, Manager at BC Ferries, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We could not agree more; the scenery it quite amazing, and enjoying a meal while watching the picture perfect view pass by is something special.

We do empathize with our customer’s and the frustration around the topic of fares. I thank you for sharing your comments and recommend that you also share your thoughts with the BC Ferry Commission http://www.bcferrycommission.com/ as they regulate the fares and service levels here at BC Ferries.

Our customers opinions are greatly valued to us as we are consistently striving to meet all of their expectations. If you would like to provide more feedback, we would love to hear from you. Our Customer Relations team can be reached via email at Customer.Relations@bcferries.com.

Best regards,
Megan – Customer Care
BC Ferries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BC Ferries also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to BC Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BC Ferries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.