We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
9775 First Street, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This was the one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is a dream for those wishing to stay in the heart of Sidney and be by the water. Our oceanfront view, with well maintained walkways, pier, were so very relaxing. The room was clean and had all the amenities. Staff were very friendly and informative, and we found the Inn was quiet. Mornings brought a light continental breakfast. Across the road was a Fairway Market which came in handy, however there are many good restaurants within walking distance. A stones throw from this Inn you can book aquatic excursions and sightseeing tours to various islands.
We highly recommend this Inn to anyone wishing to stay in Sidney.

Room Tip: Love the oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    49
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
49
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a relaxing holiday with my thirteen year old son which was going to be budget friendly and this certainly fit the bill. Stayed in the Standard street view room which was exactly how it was described and the street view faced a bunch of tall bushes and a nice mural on the side of Fairway Market, a large grocery store across the street - not too bad to look at. The room was very clean, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was basic. It was great to have free calls within North America, use of complimentary bikes (no helmets though) and all the other amenities. Beautiful and central small town location. Sidney Bakery is nearby and has some gluten free options, but personally we loved the jelly doughnuts. Nice farmer's market with entertainment on Thursday evenings. The bus stop is easy 5-10 minute walking distance and we took BC Transit quite a bit to go to downtown Victoria. You can buy a daypass for only $5 to ride the bus and the bus drivers were excellent. It was neat to ride the double decker to Victoria and the hour to get there went by quickly because the ride was very scenic. We had a great time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

we have never been to Sidney before so we rolled the dice on a hotel.wow what a roll ocean view and a great price excellent location friendly staff clean room.you can walk to anything you need.i would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We originally chose this hotel because of its waterfront location and proximity to friends and we were very pleased with its amenities. The location was great with wonderful views of the waterfront, Mt Baker, and the beautiful sea-side park and fishing pier. Sidney is a lovely little town and the hotel conveniently sits in the midst of nice shops and cafes, including a grocery store across the street. Only 10 min away from the Victoria airport, ferries, and a few blocks from frequent regional bus service to Victoria, it is possible to get here and stay without renting a car.

We stayed twice, in a sea view with 2 queens room, and in a standard 1 queen room facing the parking lot. Rooms were well appointed and included a fridge, microwave, good wifi and free North American long distance. Free parking and coin laundry on site. Includes a decent continental breakfast (toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereals). Friendly, welcoming staff.
Definitely recommended and would stay here again.

Room Tip: It's well worth the extra cost for a room facing the waterfront which includes a private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a kitchenette room on the town side of the inn. It was a nice room that was comfortable and clean and the fridge had a freezer compartment large enough for blue ice. While having a view of the ocean would have been nice, we didn't want the cost that went with it, so whenever we wanted to see the water we went outside! The inn sits next to the seaside walk which makes for a nice walk to town or further down the beach.

One item advertised is a "fireplace" in each room. We can't speak for the deluxe rooms, but in the standard rooms they are small stand-alone 'fake fire' heaters used as a stand for the television. At least in our room it was positioned at the foot of our bed and it was impossible to see the "fire" unless you were sitting at the foot of the bed or standing near it - certainly not while lying in the bed. So if a fireplace is important to you get a deluxe room where the photos show it as a larger unit in a better location.

We appreciated the friendly and helpful staff and the free use of bikes to ride around town. The location of the inn was wonderful with all the Sidney shops and restaurants nearby and riding the bikes helped us investigate the town quickly so we could then head for what really interested us.

We would stay here again if we are back in the Sidney area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Renfrew, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The staff are always so nice & welcoming. Whether you stay in the main building or the Cannery Suites you'll always be guaranteed a clean, bright, comfortable room with the best beds ever!
The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It's right on the water, with all your shopping needs minutes away.
They are pet friendly, without extravagant fees attached. Wonderful walking paths just out your door.
This is my home away from home. After a long day, I know my comforts will come when I arrive @ The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both the main building rooms & The Cannery Suites & have enjoyed them all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a very nice room with a view of the waterfront and the fishing dock. The little extras in the room, like a night light in bath, very nice towels and plenty of coffee, both decaf and regular plus tea was a treat. The breakfast was dry cereal, toast and yogurt... we had plenty of time to go out before the ferry left for Friday Harbor.

Room Tip: Upstairs has a view, but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Address: 9775 First Street, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites is conveniently located on the waterfront, the only Hotel on South Vancouver Island with a beach. Just 20 minutes from Victoria and five minutes from Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries & the IOS. From your balcony, only feet from the ocean, take in Sidney by the Sea's breathtaking waterfront & views of the Gulf Islands. Relax in front of your fireplace in a cozy wicker chair or soak in a large jetted tub. Enjoy our recently updated rooms and suites, high speed internet, free N.American long distance 24/7, 45 HD TV Channels and free parking. Enjoy Boutique shopping on-site in The Cannery & discover waterfront dining in our Beacon Landing Restaurant and Lounge. The most Affordable rates on the Waterfront in Sidney-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.