We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonight's meal was very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fish on Fifth

Fish on Fifth
9812 5th Street, Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 656-4022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 77 Restaurants in Sidney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Tonight's meal was very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been customers to Fish on 5th in Sidney, for about 10 years. We used to have dinner there once a week.......and recommended the restaurant to everyone! The food was always perfect, the place spotless, and the staff was fantastic.
We really can't say all of that anymore. Our dinners at the restaurant are very infrequent now, due to disappointment in the food quality, amount, price changes, and unfortunately the attitude and dress choices of the staff. We have been very disappointed several times. It's become expensive and not very enjoyable.
Tonight's dinner was really terrible. We paid $27+ for way-overcooked fish, and fries. The fish was "chewy" if you can picture that. The fries were hard! The coleslaw had way too much sauce in it. My tea was good, but served in that silly teapot without a lid, so the second cup is cold. The restaurant did not have that clean, good food smell to it either!
Our young lady server was the brightest spot in the dinner outing. She is brand new, and was very polite, careful to get our order right, and cheerful. I regret I didn't note her name, but she is also a lifeguard at Panorama!
Please do something to return this great place back to its "old days" quality. We will try one more time..........and if it's not improved, that'll be unhappily it for us. Sorry, Diane & Chuck

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    60
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great fish and chips located about five minute walk from the main harbour in Sidney British Columbia. The patio is roomy but not much to look at other than pedestrians. Definitely will visit any time we're in Sidney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good fish & chips, but needs a good clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently travelled to the island with friends and stopped in for fish & chips on our way to the ferries. I had halibut & fries, my friends had haddock. The service was decent even though the place was packed. Our food arrived hot and was tasty, but fish portions were small. My friend had a salad with hers and had a few mouthfuls, but wasn't overly impressed. Our server was a young man who was very attentive, although looked slightly frazzled. (long weekend rush?)

The décor is funky, and I enjoyed taking in all the art/decorations. It did look, in my opinion, in need a good clean. The menus were grubby, (I ordered mine without looking at the menu), the floors sticky, and the bathroom smelly.

I did give an overall rating of 4 stars based solely on the food and our friendly server.

One piece halibut with fries and a glass of beer, including tax and tip, $20.00.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“not bad, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This has been the go to place for me for a number of years. Excellent fish and chips, great salads etc. But I agree with some reveiwers that the quality and service has slipped a bit. On our recent visit, my parent had fish and chips. They were ok but a bit soggy. I had the oyster burger (because the wonderful fish salmon candy salad isn't on the menu anymore) and the bun was stale. Service was a little slow, considering at the time, there was only about 4 tables. It may have been an off day, and I will go back and give the place another chance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, British Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“FUNKY on FIFTH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We entered the restaurant and our immediate view was of the large vats used in their frying process. The stench of hot oil permeated the place. There were tables beyond the entrance but we opted for the outside deck to alleviate the odour.
We were issued 3 grubby menus and that was it. No water although it was a very warm evening.
The deck was shaded but badly in need of a paint job. We observed meals coming and going. The servers all appeared to be teenagers with no one older in charge. Having waited for over 20 mins. we got up to leave when a harried young woman arrived to take our order.We decided on a glass of wine each and then ordered the Halibut with half green salad and half fries. We then waited another 15 mins. for the wine alone to arrive. Eventually our food orders arrived - a disappointing small piece of fish atop warmish french fries and the "green" salad consisted of grated beets and carrots. The dressing had run into the bottom layer of chips - a soggy mess!
No one available to voice our complaints to. We couldn't wait to get out of there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish on Fifth also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Fish on Fifth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish on Fifth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.