We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word: hygiene.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub

Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub
2537 Beacon Avenue, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1Y3, Canada
250-656-6690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 77 Restaurants in Sidney
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“one word: hygiene.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

came here for a drinks and dinner after a work conference on february 20. the service and food was generally fine, but the reason i write this negative review (and my first review for that matter), is because over 90 minutes after i had notified two different staff members that the women's washroom was out of soap, it still had not been refilled!! gross!! I know that many restaurants do not have separate facilities for patrons and staff, so although it is gross either way, if it is your prerogative to not wash your hands before you handle food that is one thing, but if you are preparing or SERVING me my food, um EW!!! the icing on the cake was that as you exit the washroom, directly in front of you is a wall mounted hand sanitizer dispenser which was ALSO empty. luckily, somebody at our table had some. gross gross gross! last but not least, when i notified the first server about the issue, her response was that the restaurant was currently very very busy. priorities please.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    29
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Saved the Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a disastrous lunch at Brentwood Bay we decided to sup at the Beacon where we ate on a previous trip to Victoria and which we remembered well. It was worth the visit and definitely finished off the day properly. I had the NS Lobster and Blue Crab Papperdelle. Rich, in a light cream sauce, garnished with asiago and served with a generous portion of corn bread. Noodles were fresh, cooked perfectly. Seafood was sufficient and flavourful, not overpowered by the sauce. Portion was a good size, not too large but because of the richness sufficient and very satisfying. My wife had the Quadra Bay Scallops, as she had last time we were here. They were as good as she remembered, sweet, succulent, juicy, seared and perfectly cooked, large portion with 7 large scallops. Served on a bed of Applewood smoked bacon risotto, again done perfectly (Watching Hell's Kitchen I didn't think that was possible.). Well done. This is a place to keep on your list, particularly if you fly out of YYJ regularly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Seaside & friendly pub-ish restaurant-ish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beacon Landing is more innovative than one would expect from a pub. It's seaside location in the town of Sidney BC with lots of parking makes it irresistible too. Beautifully fresh and gorgeously presented dishes at a good price. Drinks could use a little upgrade and finesse, but they give you blankets for the patio if it's too crisp.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have been to the Beacon on several occasions and, while the menu is somewhat limited (in my opinion!), the food is pretty good. Service is pleasant, the atmosphere is good. The view is divine!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Fresh seafood is a must"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I ordered scallops which although a little pricey, were cooked to perfection!!
Service is prompt, and the views and overall ambiance are tranquil. An excellent luchtime or evening venue, with child restrictions for underage drinkers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Landing Restaurant and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.