We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little diner in beautiful town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bench Diner

Red Bench Diner
41707 Government Rd., Squamish, British Columbia BC V0N 1H0, Canada
(604) 898-1991
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 69 Restaurants in Squamish
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good little diner in beautiful town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The food at Red Bench Diner was varied in quality. I had a great Russian Reuben, others had the veggie Reuben and said it was good, but the fish in the fish & chips was coated with a soggy and thick fried layer. The fries had great flavor but were a but on the greasy side. This was a little disappointing. I think we were expecting something better consider the rating.
Service was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy pastromi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

While working on a project in Squamish I was told about this out of the way abode and well you just have to try it because for where you are out of the way its awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Looks like all the locals eat there. Good hearty, healthy meals. Large portions. Choose your own toppings on your omlette. Breads were fabulous. not super clean looking but interesting and ecclectic.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Joy of Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

How this nondescript, side of the road, off the main highway, downtown metropolis of Brackendale puts out top-rank fare for way less than average prices for ordinary food is a mystery.

And why it was not filled to the brim with people at 9am for breakfast, another mystery.

The answer to the first question seems to be that the proprietor really cares, has a good chef, isn't greedy, buys quality ingredients, and is trusted by her local and tourist clientele.

As to the second question, she simply said it was a slow time of year, but that on weekends, they're packed. Good on them!

I had a $10, 3 egg omelet, with LOTS of good lox styled cold-smoked salmon, real Swiss cheese and spinach, accompanied by a mound of chunky potato hash browns. Salsas on request.

Ok, I was pretty hungry, but that was only part of the reason why I was licking the big oval platter clean.

They serve breakfast all day, also have a hefty lunch menu. Truly unpretentious, but genuinely good food, nice people, homey atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected, amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We read about this place on trip advisor when we needed a breakfast stop while driving from Whistler to Vancouver. What a treat! The diner is small but clean, staff is friendly, and the atmosphere is quaint, small-town authentic. And the food-- fabulous!!! Way better than typical diner fare. Food is high quality, ingredients are fresh, and there are lots of options for the health conscious. And the coffee was excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bench Diner also viewed

Brackendale, Squamish
Squamish, British Columbia
 
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
 

Been to Red Bench Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bench Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.