We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co. to your Saves list
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   37801 Cleveland Ave., Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0A7, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Squamish B&B and Inns
Duncan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun place and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently attended a wedding at the Howe Sound Inn and had a great time. There are 20 rooms upstairs and the wedding party and guests filled all of them. Outside the rooms at the top of the stairs is a small sitting area with couch, chairs and coffee table where we often stopped to visit family and friends. There was a separate room that we were able to set up the night before for the wedding ceremony the next day. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Having the whole floor to ourselves was great with family and friends able to pop in and out of their rooms to visit. The wedding dinner on the Saturday was absolutely great as were the canapes served after the ceremony and before the dinner. The staff were all very friendly which made for a great time for all. The noise from the pub could not be heard from our room and they had a band playing. The pub also had great food and atmosphere. I would recommend this venue for anyone who is looking to have a small wedding party or other celebratiions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We live in Vancouver and were looking for a getaway spot when I ended up bumping into the Howe Sound Inn online. The hotel was exactly what I expected - cute, small and very cozy. There are 20 rooms, a restaurant and the brewery pub.

The room was quite nice, comfortable bed and had a wonderful view of the mountains. We could hear noise from the room next door, people passing by and talking on the corredor but since there are only 20 rooms, and it was a quiet weekend in Squamish, that didn't bother us as there weren't too many people around. Not sure how the noise level would be on a busy time though, judging by our experience, I'm assuming it could be an inconvenience.

We got the package that included dinner so we headed to the restaurant at night and had a wonderful meal. The food is what you'd expect from a pub/brewery type of setting, but everything we had was delicious. We went to the brewery pub afterwards, which was quite nice, good prices, and had a great atmosphere. They have live music on Saturdays, which made it even more pleasant.

One thing I'd highly recommend is for you to try the peanut butter cookie they sell at the front desk! It's made by their pastry chef and it has a dough of peanut butter with chocolate chip cookies in between 2 peanut butter cookies. It's absolutely amazing!

Overall, this is a great choice for a weekend getaway, or even if you're heading over to Whistler but don't want to pay the absurd prices for a room. The hotel is located in the heart of city and there are tons of things around it. It's also right by the water as well, so it's nice to go for short walks too. It's not a fancy hotel, but definitely homely. I'd stay there again and would recommend it for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main stairs so you don't hear people passing by on the corredor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashcroft, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Howe Sound did a 1920's themed New Years, we stayed 2 nights with friends and had a BLAST!
The common area upstairs was great and it really felt like our own living room (although the flame on the fire place wouldn't work).

I can't say enough about the food, it was amazing and by far among the best we've ever had, and that's saying a lot since between the 4 of us we've been almost everywhere in the world. I recommend the lamb shanks, oysters, calamari, and the mussels. The ales are all wonderful, it's no wonder that they have won so many awards!

We loved the pub, they did a great job with the atmosphere. The restaurant was also great and we felt very much at home.

We went on a brewery tour, given by the brew master, and really enjoyed getting to see behind the scenes of a product we love so much!

Our room was simple and clean with a great view. It Looked out to the Chief mountain, we're so coming back to climb that bad boy! We also loved the day bed. Every hotel room should have a day bed, amazing.

The only area of concern was the check in service, although the staff was polite and kind, there was no mention of the sauna, the brewery tour that they have available or anything else to give us the lay of the land so to speak....we found out about these things on our own. Also, the keys for the rooms are on such a small chain that I found myself constantly checking to make sure I hadn't lost or misplaced it.

All in all we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, well worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you're hanging out at the brewpub downstairs it doesn't get much more convenient than walking up some stairs to your room. Other than some older bathrooms, the rooms are totally comfortable. It's small, only 20 rooms, which makes it feel like you have the place to yourself if you're with a group. There's not a lot within walking distance, but it doesn't really matter. I'd definitely recommend it if you're in Squamish.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wonderfully comfortable room, cozy, homey.....Above the Howe Sound Brewery, so its the perfect spot for a nightcap. Stay for breakfast and celebrate the West Coast Benedict..........sheer joy! Everybody is very friendly, and I slept like a dream........ahhhhhhh

Room Tip: East side for a view of the sound, West side for the view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Check in staff were really friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff even had a big smile and warm hello. Bed and pillows were comfy and there was a daybed tucked right up against the window, taking advantage of the great view even if it was raining.

Room decor was warm and rustic and I would have given it full points, but the toilet paper was terrible. Otherwise, 2 thumbs up.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Howe for one night after going camping the day before - what a difference! The hotel is very nice, we had a lovely room. After hiking the entire day the sauna was great (which was turned on just for us!) and the food at the restaurant was really good. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here (especially when tired and soaked from camping).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.

Address: 37801 Cleveland Ave., Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howe Sound Inn and Brewing Company is a character northwest inn located in the town centre of Squamish, B.C., a scenic 45 minute drive north of Vancouver, and only 35 minutes south of the resort of Whistler. The Inn offers gorgeous views of the Stawamus Chief, Western Canada's premiere rock climbing venue. Our warm and casual atmosphere provides guests affordable accommodation, with great food and award winning ales brewed on the premise. We're a minute's walk from downtown shops, the local marina and the Squamish Estuary. The estuary offers excellent walking and running trails and is a site for great birding opportunities all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.