We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Mountain Retreat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V08 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Squamish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Decided to stay in Squamish and try some of the local mountain biking trails. The BW is close by the Squamish adventure center which is near the start of many trails. We rode the trails around the adventure center and then headed up to alice lake and the cheyne trail there. Our stay at BW was very nice and the pool, hot tub and waterslide were very nice after a long day biking. FYI there are lots of good bike shops nearby, i got a new tire at corsa on hwy 99 and a new helmet at republic on government road. Oh and the restaurant has nice breakfast no too pricey and very nice dinner selection (portions are quite big).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    71
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
41
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

At very short notice I found myself in Squamish and booked into the Best Western. If I had read the negative reviews on here before hand I might not have, but I have to say the hotel was spot on. I enjoyed a quick and friendly check-in and advised on facilities etc.

Prior to heading to my room I enjoyed food in the attached bar restaurant, again very friendly and good food.

On entering my room there was no complaints all very clean and fresh looking. Having had a long day travelling I was after sleep, and this was on,y ruined through no fault of the hotel but the person in the room above, had it not been for that an excellent rating would have been awarded. I did report to reception in the morning and an apology was made, but maybe the gesture if free breakfast would have compensated.

Overall and enjoyable short stay and if in the area again I would return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned home from a fab trip to BC. Stayed here for one night. The best service from all the staff in the hotel and restaurant. Probably the best hotel breakfast of our 5 week trip. The room was spotless and very comfortable

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Passed by this BW more that a few times on our way to Whistler,decided to stay the night ( traffic was horrible) the front desk clerk was friendly and courteous,great sleep in the kingsize bed,noise not a problem we were the hwy side,mind you,this may have been partially related to the absolutely delicious dining experience we had at the Restuarant beside our hotel called the TIMBERWOLF RESTUARANT AND LOUNGE this is a hidden jem...five star menu..five star servers...lovely wine ! We now are going to make this our always spot to come and dine felt so right thank you lovely ladies xo

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night while traveling looking for work.
Desk staff were friendly and check in/out was a breeze. The room was clean and picture perfect. Everything was in working order and looked well maintained. I didn't use the pool or other facilities but while checking out noticed two people working on cleaning the pool and deck area. The hotel is located one exit North of town so you have to drive there but there is a Tim Horton's/Wendy's a short walk. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pros

- Convenient Location, easy to find, especially since we did not have a map or GPS. Nearby stores have everything you could need for visiting the area including Whistler.
- Reasonable Price
- Friendly staff
- Clean

Cons

- No free breakfast (reoccurring theme in Canada it seems)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

just returned from and extended weekend stay, have to say the beds were amazing as was the room, had a room backing onto the hwy with no complaints from noise but a great mountain view. Linens and towels were fresh and crisp white just love that. House keeping was again amazing and prompt. My only suggestion would be to have recycling bin for beverage containers and water bottles like other best westerns we have stayed at will return in the future front desk day staff is great night girl could use a little more training when handling group check in and problem solving.

Room Tip: rooms closest to elevator start with 1- and 28 being the largest but the furthest from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V08 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.