We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable whistler trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 3G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Squamish
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    64
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
38
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in the best western for two nights over a weekend. It's not easy to get a room in Squamish in ski season, so there were few available. I was lucky to get the rooom I got on the highway side of the hotel. Not as loud as I feared, but noticeable. The room was excellent, two Queen beds, good TV and WiFi. Very clean. No safe, so I had to carry my laptop down to the car and lock it there when I was away from the hotel. There is a pool and heated spa and sauna which I didn't try, but seemed popular with the families that were there.

Squamish fills up on weekends during ski season. It's a great place to stay at half the price of Whistler, so people use Squamish hotels for this. Reserve early if you need a room here.
The attached resaurant and bar is very good and cheap. There is a Tim Horton's open 24 hours next door if you need it.

Overall pleasantly surprised and will stay there again next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangeville, ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at the Mountain Retreat Jan. 24-25/13.
We arrived before the 3 p.m. check in but our room was ready. Check in was quick and the staff was very friendly. The lobby is small but quaint with a business area with computer and printer. Complimentary newspapers available.
The hotel is in an industrial area of Squamish. Our room did have a mountain backdrop but also industrial units and parking lot. Probably could have changed rooms but decided not to.
The bed was pretty comfortable. We couldn't keep the room at a maintained temperature...it got very hot and then cool. The area is very quiet.
The room was spacious and offered usual hotel/motel ammenities like a coffee maker, mini fridge, ironing board. Free wifi in the room.
We visited the restaurant for dinner. Menu offered quite a variety of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner and service was friendly. Eat in or take out available.
There is a convenience store on site. Alcohol is sold here too.
The pool and hot tub were nice although we couldn't get the jets to work on the hot tub. Fun slide on the pool.
Fitness centre offered a treadmill, elliptical (spelled wrong probs) and a bike as well as a universal weight machine.
There is also an area by the elevator that offers a lot of guides and brochures for excursions and dining guides in the area.
There was also a laundry room - one washer and one dryer.
Pop machine would not accept our Canadian coins...not sure why, even exchanged coins at desk.
There are a number of stores in Squamish if you need anything - WalMart, grocery store, liquor store,etc...and there is a Tim Horton's a short walk from the hotel.
It is about an hour from Vancouver and about 45 mins from Whistler.
It's not fancy but staff is very friendly.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We decided on Friday night to head up to this hotel the next morning for a little R&R. It's been years since we stayed here and weren't disappointed. We booked on hotel.com for $80/nt. Check-in was efficient, the room was very clean and comfortable. Our special request to be on the side that doesn't face the highway was granted. It was nice to have fridge and microwave. The rooms are spacious and it was nice to have a window that opens. We ordered take-out pizza and salad from the attached restaurant as the restaurant is not affiliated with the hotel. The only other restaurants within walking distance are Wendy's and Tim Hortons. Other than a liquor store attached to the restaurant, there are no other amenities within walking distance but we knew this beforehand and were okay with that. There's a pool with a water slide, which is popular with families, and a tiny hot tub. We used the fitness room and found it very clean. It has a few cardio machines, a universal weight machine, towels, water, and a TV. We would stay here again and recommend this hotel to others looking for a clean hotel with a decent rate and amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side may be quieter as they do not face the highway. Stop by Zephyr Cafe in downtown S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao jose dos campos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stay over for one night on our way to Whistler. Very clean, room very spacious, very friendly staff. It The breakfast at the restaurant was very good save my day. The location close to the road to Whiatler was very welcome for a tired family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed New Year's eve- staff were friendly, if a little stressed because of the amount of business due to Whistler being at capacity. Room was clean, smelled nice, had a microwave and fridge which was a nice bonus. Pool and hottub were closed for renovations but we were aware of this beforehand so it wasn't an issue. No free breakfast but we ate at the hotel restaurant and were very pleased- good food, prices and service. We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just stayed one night. Room was clean, but really just your average motel room. Nothing flashy but bed was reasonably comfy. Room was reasonably priced for what you got. It was fine for a one night stay but wouldn't want to stay much longer. Lots of noise from the hallway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel

Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 3G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.