We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm lake, great place to end the day after a hike!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Lake Provincial Park

Alice Lake Provincial Park
Highway 99 | (13 kilometers north of Squamish), Squamish, British Columbia V0N 3G0, Canada
604-898-3678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Squamish
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic park contains four lakes and is perfect for hiking and swimming.
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Warm lake, great place to end the day after a hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We started our day parking at Shannon Falls, hiked the Stawamus Chief (first peak, and ended here for a swim and snack.

The lake was warm compared to other mountain lakes and the ocean and a welcome reprieve for our aching hiking muscles. There were bathrooms and a changing room right off the parking lot, so it was an easy place to stop for a dip in the lake.

While we didn't camp, there were large and private group and individual sites, so I would seriously consider coming back here to camp. There were people canoeing there and the park patrol said that the "Four Lakes Trail" was a lovely 1.5 hr hike. This is definitely a family friendly location, but doesn't have to be. I'm already looking forward to returning!

There was no fee to park or for day use, but there are camping fees of course. Be sure to check out the website for official fee information and other reviews for other cost info.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family camping location or for day trip hikers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic park with all the necessary amenities required for a family: water, rv/tent sites, dump areas, pit and flush toilets, showers.

If you are just stopping by for a day trip, great hiking and swimming options.

Would return

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We decided to take our intex out to the lake, but this was a very bad idea. It was very windy this day and everyone on their boats were getting pushed back to shore. It would be a nice stop for a picnic or a little dip. The lake is definitely a family destination.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely ($40) campsite but no dogs allowed near the (small) lake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were happy to find such a beautiful campground but would have rather paid $20 for it. Especially since the dog was not allowed to walk around the lake on the trail or go in the water. Bathhouse was clean and well lit. Water was available and tasted great. We were tent camping.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Reaching a Point Where Visitor Numbers Need Limits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A beautiful setting that is starting to be ruined by proximity and ease of access: this park has some lovely small lack and river back trails that children over 9 years old should be able to manage with adult accompaniment but now a days most visits are of the beer-cooler, car park, sit on the main lake variety. Sadly chip, coffee, sushi, chocolate bars, and other waste containers are becoming the norm. There is a true disconnect between wilderness and conduct/responsibility to same. If you can drive it there in your car, you can drive it out when you leave!!! It may be time to limit visits per day, as has become the norm in the National parks, for better and responsible park management. Many people need to be saved from their own lack of foresight when it comes to how they "use" a park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice Lake Provincial Park also viewed

 
Ainsworth Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Alice Lake Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Lake Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.