We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Value for Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence of India

Essence of India
40367 Tantalus Way | Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
604 898 1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Squamish
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Description: Recently renovated and triple the size, The Essence of India has become the place to be in Squamish. Same fresh authentic food and great service, you will never be disapointed. The menu offers a great variety of vegetarian and vegan options. Make sure to give it a try, you won't be dissapointed!
Whistler
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Value for Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We live in Whistler, travel frequently, and probably eat dinner in restaurants 75-100 times a year. Essence of India is the best value we have found in BC, and one of our top 10 BC restaurants in terms of food quality - at one-third the price you'd pay for a good restaurant meal in Whistler! They are located in a strip mall two minutes off Highway 99 just behind a shopping mall at the north end of Squamish. There are only half a dozen tables, but you can usually get a spot, as much of their business is take-out. The chef and his wife are the owners, and they are very nice people who take pride and delight in the enjoyment of their customers. Often we go with friends, so we can order several dishes and mix and match. Ask for a small dish of hot peppers to accommodate different preferences for spiciness. Essence of India is definitely worth a stop. We plan our trips south so that we're in Squamish at dinnertime.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian Resurant in Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I have had many Indian meals, and this one has to rank with the very best. As well as the fantastic food the staff are very friendly and helpful and overall this makes dining at the Essence of India a real treat.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garibaldi Highlands, Canada
1 review
“A great place to hang out, with great customer service and authentic Indian cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Looking for tasty India meal and freindly atmosphere this is the place.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple , unpretentious, tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Everything is unpretentious here, but care is spent on the food itself, which is delicious and presented in attractive dishes. If it were in a city, this would be sort of a hole-in-the-wall type place you'd confidently bring your friends to, while chuckling at the blindness of people paying twice the price just to dine at some trendy spot. The chef regularly pops out of the kitchen at Essence of India, ensuring that his guests are well fed and smiling. A great place for a casual and delicious meal in Squamish.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Food is very tasty! Chef comes and chats with you. Location is very small but totally worth it if you have to wait.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence of India also viewed

Squamish, British Columbia
Garibaldi Highlands, Squamish
 
Brackendale, Squamish
 

Been to Essence of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.