We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Better Options” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Mikes Steakhouse Casual

Mr Mikes Steakhouse Casual
4736 Lakelse Avenue, Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District, British Columbia V8G2X8, Canada (Formerly Mr Mikes Grill)
(250) 635-3077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in Terrace
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Way Better Options”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The restaurant seats people from two different doors at opposite sides of the restaurant. We were a table of six and were told a 15 minute wait. I noticed after 30 minutes everyone was told 15 minutes. So there was no real thought or professionalism put into the position of hostess. Final after 40 minute hostess says our table for 3 is ready. FAIL. "Oh no worries a table for 6 will open up....." You guessed it in 15 minutes. Waited another 20 and we left. Won't go back again saw some things that make me question the training of staff, not just hostess but wait staff also. Avoid.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithers, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“An hour to get the wrong order”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have always enjoyed Mr. Mikes in Ft. St. John, so we tried the Terrace location.
Never again.
The service was next not non-existent, the food was at or below average, and it took an hour and speaking directly to the manager to get our order. When we did get the order, it was wrong.

Details:
Father's Day in Terrace, we had just spent the day at the "Show & Shine" and Drag Races. It was only 4:30PM but we wanted an early supper because we were travelling with a five year old and her pregnant Mom.

One of the servers took our drink order and told us our food server would be right there. The drinks came and no food server, so the drink server took our food order. Then we waited, and waited... drinks were refilled between 6 and 8 times, while 45 minutes elapsed. We saw other tables that arrived after us get their meals and still we waited. Finally the pregnant Mom stopped a staff member and complained about the delay, and the staff member retrieved the Manager.

Another 15 minutes rolls by and the food was served; unfortunately, I had ordered a "Bacon Mushroom Mikeburger" (one of the house specialities), that only had ONE strip of bacon and NO mushrooms. The 'burger' was made from a frozen patty that can be bought at any grocery store, and somehow the chef had 'forgotten' that these patties only resemble meat, and need to have some semblance of flavour added; ANY spice would have been nice, but alas, I can only presume the kitchen was all out of things like salt, pepper, ... any rapid service restaurant in town would be ashamed to serve the meal provided at Mr. Mikes.

Another complaint about the food to the manager saw a small bowl of freshly sautéed mushrooms being delivered, and 20% taken off the bill for our trouble.

The manager explained that they did not expect the get as busy as they did, <sarcasm> a steak house on Father's Day after a Drag Racing Event - nope nobody could possibly foresee a potential busy night </sarcasm> which caused our order to get backed up (behind people who came in after us?).

From our perspective, they will have one less family to worry about in their restaurant, so now they can treat others with total disdain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Normally my fav but not this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I won't go on and on but normally this is our go-to place when in Terrace. I ordered the Saltery Prawn & Scallop salad which isn't cheap but normally everything is so good here. What a let down! Anywhere else this would be a half order portion. There was a light sprinkling of prawns and scallops (maybe 4 each), traces of almonds and a dusting of Parmesan. The equivalent of a half piece if garlic bread to top it off. No value for the dollar here. Our server, though friendly, never really came back or asked anything after the fact. Next time I will stick to a burger which you can't go wrong!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cajun Chicken Pasta is YUMM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food has never disappointed me. Pretty good food. The restaurant has an odd set up, not a great place to watch hockey games.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great place for a steak and a beer. The food is consistently great, service is always spot on. This is my favorite place to meet friends for dinner and drinks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Mikes Steakhouse Casual also viewed

Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District
Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District
 
Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District
Terrace, Kitimat-Stikine District
 

Been to Mr Mikes Steakhouse Casual? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Mikes Steakhouse Casual, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.