We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Co-owner Called” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Michael

Cafe Michael
8266 Highway 3b, Trail, British Columbia V1R 2Y8, Canada
(250) 364-2112
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 39 Restaurants in Trail
Restaurant details
Creston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Co-owner Called”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Right after my initial review of Café Michael was posted I received, at home, a phone call. The lady introduced herself as co-owner of this restaurant. She defended each of the negative points I had made in my review and it ended with her saying: " well, we do have to make money." On this point we totally agree. It is my belief that if a restaurant serves great food and has great service, they will certainly make money. She offered a gift certificate for us to return but had to ask her husband first. To date, We have not received anything. Because of her abrasive manner on the phone with me, I cannot see myself ever wanted to revisit this restaurant for any reason. We have friends and relatives in the West Kootenay area and should anyone of them suggest we go there for a meal, I would decline and suggest we go elsewhere. A sincere apology would have gone a long way in me believing the owners wished we had had a good dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trail, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I haven't tried all items on the menu but everything I have eaten here is great I must say my favourite so far is the Chicken Alaska and the House Special pizza! The service is great and the food and wine are excellent:) I highly recommend dinner or lunch out at Cafe Michael.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcharre, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fish tough and scalding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I ate there yesterday, June 13, 2014 and did not have a good experience. I ordered fish & chips. One of the pieces was very tough and had to be sawed with a knife. This same piece had not been breaded well and had a pocket of very hot oil in it that burned my throat. When the waitress asked how everything was I told her. She apologized but no one offered any accommodation on the charge. Any decent restaurant would. - Gary M. Georgeff, Rossland BC

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We drove 240 km. round trip for what we hoped would be a great dining experience for a friends birthday. It was such a disappointment. We arrived to a near empty restaurant at 6:00 pm on a Friday evening which perhaps should have told us something.
. The server was pleasant enough but clearly lacked enthusiasm for her job. A number of years ago locals would rave about the wonderful prime rib so we ordered 4 prime rib dinners and that was a mistake! One large order looked pretty much the same size as the 3 small ones and all looked like they had been put through a tenderizing machine of some sort and there was absolutely no flavor to the meat until salt and pepper were added.. The stuffed potatoes had a dry skin over the top that had to be cut with a knife and the condiments served with the 2 baked potatoes was so miniscule it was laughable.... 1 teaspoon of green onion and less than 1 teaspoon of bacon bits for 2 servings of baked potato was ridiculous. The veggies served with the meal were at best warm. The first cup of coffee was good but the fill up was so watery it was undrinkable.

If this meal came with bargain basement prices I would perhaps understand but the menu prices were steep and way overpriced for the meal served. A notice at the door told us the menu prices were wrong and that in fact they were charging $1.00 more for beef items. The four of us agreed it was not worth the trip and we will not be returning to Café Michael. Rarely have I ever complained about food served in a restaurant because I can usually find something good to say but in this case I could find nothing. Very disappointing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great salad, loved Pepper Steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped in on a long weekend . Sweet server - pleasant experience. Starter salads fresh. Pepper Steak had wonderful fresh vegetables and the steak I ordered rare was actually cooked to rare done ness -yummy! Hubby had huge rack of Greek ribs - not the best ever, but very good. Son1 like lasagne but Son2 had scallops in a wine sauce that was over-salted. However, overall, a very pleasant experience, meets expectations for a $20-$25 entree.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Michael also viewed

Trail, Kootenay Rockies
Trail, Kootenay Rockies
 
Trail, Kootenay Rockies
Trail, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cafe Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Michael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.