We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COUPLE’S WEEKEND RETREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terracana Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Terracana Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terracana Ranch Resort
Box 909, 12155 Hwy 16 | Mount Robson Fraser River Valley, Valemount, British Columbia V0E 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Valemount B&B and Inns
Sherwood Park, Alberta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“COUPLE’S WEEKEND RETREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on August 27, 2013 and we had booked the COUPLE’S WEEKEND RETREAT using a $600.00 travel voucher my husband had won at a company golf tournament for the September long weekend (sort of a 2nd honeymoon). We generally camp in our 5th wheel with our kids (all adults), my mother, sister and her family so this was a real treat for us. The views from our cabin were amazing. Waking up and having coffee while watching the sun come up on the mountains and the Fraser River was so peaceful and calming. The Riverside Champagne Picnic that was included in the COUPLE’S WEEKEND RETREAT was awesome and delicious. We stopped off the highway on our way back from the Ancient Cedars (west of McBride)by a river and had our picnic. It was so special to sit with my husband and enjoy our first ever picnic. The next day we had a 3 hour private spa experience (also included in the COUPLE’S WEEKEND RETREAT)! We enjoyed the Sauna, a soak in the Hydro Therapy tub, the Massage Chair and the bottle of wine and cheese cake. It was so relaxing and such a nice treat for both my husband and myself. The décor in the main lodge is very authentic and rustic adding to the charm of the resort. I would love to come in the winter and experience the dog sledding. I am thinking of planning the GIRLFRIEND'S GETAWAY with my mom, sister and 3 daughters for a winter get away. Best way to describe the whole experience is relaxing, romantic, rustic and well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having found this gem an hour extra drive west of Jasper it is our family's destination of choice for the weekend get away from Edmonton. Well worth the extra time in the car.We have stayed there with family from over seas and local friends many times over the last three years. We can take our animals and the peace and quite,walks are truly great. I am booking again for the salmon run again this year ,the white river rafting.Summer and winter we love the place. People who I have told them of the ranch have always enjoyed it.Craig and Natalie Wehner.Edmonton originally fom Johannesburg South Africa.

Room Tip: Room facing the river to watch the eagles in summer and in winter above the steep bank so the kids c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went with 12 people to celebrate a 30th birthday party over the Canada Day long weekend. It was AWESOME!! This hidden gem provides the perfect compromise for friends who loving being outdoors and those who require hotel amenities (super clean rooms w/ separated bathroom area[w/ hot showers], comfy beds, and kitchenette). We booked a few days in advance due to the flooding in the Canmore area (which was our intended destination) and the staff members went above and beyond our expectations to accommodate our large group. PLUS, the cost for the 5 day stay was more than reasonable; it was a fraction of what we would have paid to stay in hotel for that length of time & no driving required to capture the breathtaking views of the mountains. Literally, the mountain view was accessible by just opening the door of the cabin suite. We had full run of the land which allowed us a few minute walk down a grassy hill to the Fraser River bank, a sand volleyball court, full sized Tipis stocked with wood for amazing campfires at night (keeping out any mosquitoes!). We can't wait to go back! CHECK IT OUT!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was there for the long weekend in August with my family and friends (9 people in total). We all love the place, location was awesome, views were amazing, all our pictures are beautiful. After, this weekend we are planning our next time at Terracana since the place was just the way we wanted. The view of the mountain and the Fraser river right in front of our cabins were beautiful. We B.B.Q. all three days while we all enjoy the view. The customer services could not be better, the playroom was perfect full of games for all ages and open all night, I have been in other cabins but nothing like this one. The place is excellent and clean!!! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I've been there for 2 nights with my friends and we really like it. First the place is fancy and it looks like 5 star hotels. The area is full of activities, you can set around the fire in the tents, play a volleyball, play in the games room or drive the golf cars and explorer the area. The river is 2 minutes walking from our rooms. Staff there are friendly and super helpful. We enjoyed our stay there and wish to come again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 days to go snowmobiling. The set up is good, near the mountains. The food was awesome. Our issue was the customer service. We booked in to the bunkhouse which on the website is a big cabin sleeping 8-16 people. The website shows separate rooms, several bathrooms and a kitchen. I even saw pictures. We had teenagers and a baby with us so I wanted to make sure there was at least a small kitchen and a separate room so the baby could get to sleep. We showed up and stayed in the top of the bunkhouse which has been recently remodeled-very nicely but no kitchen, one bathroom and no separate rooms-all beds are in one main area. It was all nicely redone but it wasn't at all what was on the website or what we booked. The TV was not working when we checked in so we spoke to the mgr and the mtnce guy looked at it. It was broken and the lodge isn't near any large town so he actually went to borrow one from his niece-he was wonderful. We spoke to the manager and she said she'd work a deal out with us at checkout. Again, a TV might not be important to everyone but we had someone staying with the baby during the day and the TV was supposed to be working so we wanted a working one. when we went to check out, the manager wasn't around nor had she left any message on the file. My husband explained the situation to the lady at the desk who was an example of absolutely terrible service. Her response was " but you stayed so it couldn't have been that bad". Did I mention this was Family Day wknd so everything was booked? I agree, it wasn't horrible but it wasn't at all what was promised on the phone when we booked or on the website. She then said we should have said something when we checked in-we did but the manager didn't mention it or put it in the file and was conveniently off on a busy day for checkout. The lady at the desk was incredibly rude and I felt that when we paid over $2500 for a weekend, to stay in a cabin that was not at all what was promised, they should have made some type of deal. they also didn't clean our cabin at all in 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracana_12, Manager at Terracana Ranch Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We sincerely appreciated all of your comments during your stay. Staff went
above and beyond to address your concerns and ensure you were satisfied.
You and many others in your group commented how much you enjoyed your
stay, so much so that you extended your stay.

Taking everything into consideration we honestly did not feel any discount
was warranted. Customer service is absolutely number one with us, we are
very sorry you left so unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

this place is a absolute must for anyone sledding in valemount or Mcbride. The sledders package includes log cabin, and all food included !!!! and it is 5 star all the way! all fresh food served buffet style , also includes a packed lunch with juice, pop or coffee. i cant wait to see this place in the summer.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terracana Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terracana Ranch Resort

Address: Box 909, 12155 Hwy 16 | Mount Robson Fraser River Valley, Valemount, British Columbia V0E 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Valemount
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Valemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 500 acre Rocky Mountain wilderness resort on B.C.'S world famous Fraser River. Minutes from Mount Robson, highest peak in the Canadian Rockies. Just one hour west of Jasper, AB, 30km west of Valemount, BC & 40km east of McBride,BC. Experience local sights and adventure activities, book a spa treatment or relax in the main lodge. Enjoy a peaceful getaway and spectacular views in riverside log cabins with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Terracana Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terracana Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.