We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Pound And Moore

The Lobster Pound And Moore
161 Queen street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 2Y9, Canada (Formerly The Lobster Pound Restaurant)
+1 902-794-2992
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in North Sydney
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Food made with love for those who love food.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's is a small restaurant where the chef/owner will come out and visit with guests. The staff is top notch and the food is amazing. We had 2 lobster dinners shared between 4 adults and there was still food leftover. The extra touches for out of town guests was fantastic (suckers in the shape of a lobster). Definitely leave room for dessert too. I made reservations well in advance and commented that we were wanting a lobster meal. The 4 pound lobsters didn't disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You gotta eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and stayed in Sydney during the lobster shortage (lobster fishermen on a walkout) and were a little disappointed to here that even this place was not serving lobster dinner other than a 4lb lobster dinner that could serve a small army...but our disappointment was short live. I ordered the fish & chips (very good fish and amazing chips!) and my wife ordered the smoked grilled salmon, which was also amazing.
Apparently the wait time was a little more than normal, not that we even noticed, because the chef came by our table to inform us that because of the wait, he would through in a second piece of fish for me...which also turned into a second piece of salmon for my wife too!! So we got to share each others meals, which we like to do anyways so we can try more things.
Then, the chef came back to our table to see how we liked things, and he heard that we were travelling from TO and felt bad that we wouldn't be able to have lobster...so he prepared two of the biggest lobster claws, shucked, and buttered...OMG!!! So Good! Ad to top it all off, only charged us for the basic meals we ordered.
So, long story short...if you're in the area, call ahead to this place and make a reservation...you will not be disappointed one bit!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, NL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE TO DINE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I have had an opportunity to eat here both in March and just this past weekend. The food and service is second to none. and the value is amazing. We had a fresh lobster dinner on Friday past for just $20. The waitresses as well as the chefs go out of their way to make you feel at home and ensure you enjoy your meal to the fullest. The dessert are to die for. If you are in the area and have an opportunity to stop by, it is well worth it but be sure to call for a reservation, the place is very busy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton, N S Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of two best restaurants in North Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Diversified menu with excellent choices. Friendly staff, nice decor I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not your average lobster place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Unassuming exterior hides a very good restaurant. Chef/owner is highly trained (Vancouver) and loves to mingle with guests.

Our food was generously portioned, well prepared, and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pound And Moore also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to The Lobster Pound And Moore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Pound And Moore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.