We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all it's cracked up to be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
123 Pierce Street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1P4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Sydney
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm not sure just who the 16 people were that gave this place an excellent & very good, (friends? relatives?) - we found it average at best. Gloomy & dogged eared, mismatched furniture & linens, we were glad we'd booked for just one night. So-so breakfast.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I am very sorry i was unable to meet your expectations, but I do try to provide good value to my guests. The breakfast of meat, eggs, cereal, yogurt, bread product, jam and juice tends to meet the requirements of most of my guests. I am sorry it did not meet yours. I am trying to make aesthetic improvements at the property this year and I hope the coming year will allow me to do my best to meet my visitors needs.

Sorry, late in responding but time is mostly dedicated to doing my best for you

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
burton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

You only have to get 2 things right when you run a bed and breakfast. A good bed is essential and we did not have a good bed at the Harbourfront. Our host was helpful, breakfast was good, the room was pretty, but the bed made it impossible to get a good nights sleep. It was also very warm and a fan would have been helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest

You are right regarding the matress being the prime item for a facility such as this. I have found the choice of a matress to be very subjective. One guest will prefer firm, another likes one the sink down into. For this reason, if you have a preference, please let the owner know and I know that an effort will be made to meet your needs. Regarding, those I have to offer, FYI - I am making upgrades each year, with this year being no exception.

Also, if you need a fan, hairdryer, or any other travel need, I would suggest you inquire if it is available. Most of us try to make sure we have, even though each room is not automatically equipped with each item.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. I hope this respose has helped and I hope your future travels are enjoyable.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very good value: our room was quite large, with a private new bathroom. Everything spotless. Heather was a very kind and always busy host :-)! Breakfast not that bad. Some good restaurants in North Sydney. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It would be my pleasure to have you visit again.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Like others, I was a little skeptical about what we would find with a B&B for $80 - we were surprised. Heather (the host) was super friendly and accomodating! The Harbourfront was a great place to stay. The room was very clean, with a newly finished bathroom. The decor was a bit old fashioned, but the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was good - eggs, toast, fruit, coffee juice. For us that was more than enough! We will definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area - great value! oh and if you are taking the ferry, it is literally right across the road - very handy access!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a front room on the second floor with a wonderful view of the harbor and all of the activity associated with the Newfoundland ferries. Room was very comfortable, breakfasts were quite good and it turned out to be a great place to meet interesting people on their way to Newfoundland. The hostess, Heather, could not have nicer and more welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Room was very small, bed was lumpy. The breakfast was basic. Heather was a good host. The approach to the property was uninviting both front and rear. Not well organized and appeared to be nickel and diming everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your input. FYI - We are working on upgrading beds and exterior improvements for 2013.

Regards,

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was a little skeptical about staying at a b&b with 5 and 7 year old kids but the Innkeeper (Heather) was very accommodating and welcomed our family with open arms. Even when we didn't show up until 11pm at night. Heather seemed like the type of lady who would treat her guests as if they were part of her family.

The whole place was very clean and well cared for. We stayed in a room on the main floor that had 2 queen beds and a bathroom with a shower. The room couldn't be more perfect and my wife went nuts snapping pics of the room when she first walked in.

Breakfast was very good and satisfying and was a very well balanced meal.

The area where the b&b seemed very nice and was only a couple of blocks from the NFLD ferry. We just parked our car at the front curb and everything was fine.

I would take my family there over and over and we plan on staying the night again on the way back from NFLD.

Ron

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbourfront123, Owner at At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I would be pleased to have you stay again. As a grandmother who sees her little ones so seldom, it is always my pleasure to have little ones as my guests. Your were a pleasure.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 123 Pierce Street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbourfront is a couple of blocks from the ferry to Newfoundland and across the street from the bus terminal. For travelers touring Cape Breton: we are approx 45 minutes from the start of the Cabot Trail. We are near the city of Sydney with all its entertainment events and casino, about 45 minutes from Glace Bay's Savoy Theatre and Miners Museum, the Fortress of Louisburg and East Bay the home of Rita MacNeil’s Tea Room. Also not too far from the many golf courses and festivals that are part of the summer events in Cape Breton. North Sydney offers free entertainment at the wharf in the summer season. New North Sydney Arena and new Culture and Heritage Centre will add to the pleasure of those visiting the area along with the Sports Museum and Fossil Centre, nearby in Sydney Mines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Hotel North Sydney
The Harbourfront Bed And Breakfast Inn
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.