We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
64 King Street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
central Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Cheryl Chambers is dedicated to providing the best B&B experience in the area. The house is beautifully decorated; the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is outstanding! This inn is close to the ferry to Port aux Basques in Newfoundland so even an early morning booking is very do-able. Her gardens, porch and lovely home are a welcomed sight after a long day on the road or boat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Chery is a charming host and her breakfasts were out of this world. Our room was huge and filled with period pieces. Excellent sleep and very quiet. The whole house was beautifully decorated. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Cheryl is a great host and excellent cook (love the homemade jam)! What can we say? Best night of sleep the entire trip to Nova Scotia. Felt very comfortable in a large and spacious space upstairs. The entire house is charming and beautiful. You can feel that care has been taken for everything inside and outside the house as well. Amazing garden space adds to the experience and we appreciated that even though we barely had time to use it. Next time, we would love to stay a few days longer.

Doing the Cabot Trail counter-clockwise? Stay here, period.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Cheryl is a gracious host! She welcomed us upon arrival with fresh strawberries and yogurt, ice for cold drinks and the offer of coffee, tea or herbal teas. Her attention to giving her guests a great experience really makes her B&B special.
We stayed in two different rooms during our three days, both with ensuite bathrooms. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and inviting. The beds were comfortable. The full breakfast was beautifully served and excellent; eggs cooked to order, fruit, yogurt, delicious baked goods, home made preserves and maple syrup. Both inside and out, the B&B is colorfully and skillfully decorated, the gardens are lovely, the antiques inside are delightful. The location is also good...near supermarkets, waterfront, the Newfoundland Ferry.
We've recommended this B&B to our friends and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed with Cheryl for two days, went to Newfoundland and returned for another day. We stayed in Room 3 which has its own bathroom, a balcony room and a veranda. Just perfect - the best nights sleep on our two week trip. Breakfast offers a whole range of hot and cold foods and everything was very good. Cheryl is a wonderful hostess; her home is beautiful and the gardens are a sight to behold. We unhesitatingly recommend this bed & breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 3 is super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent three nights here while traveling with friends. Cheryl and her lovely mom are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is wonderful...the only improvement in breakfast would be fresh fruit compote. We were in one room for two nights and then had to switch to a different room for the third night because our original room was already booked. The second room was awesome and would be great for a family. It's large, has a single bed in addition to a queen and has a sun porch with another bed. Cheryl is a font of knowledge about the area not only for tourist related issues but, as it turns out, for a car related issue. She sent us to "Ralph" for a small car problem. He was great and fixed the car quickly so we could be on our way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morin Heights, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Chamber's Guest House on our way in to Newfoundland. This B&B, located in North Sydney, is at a walking distance of the ferry to Port-aux-Basques.

We weren't expecting too much because this was not our main destination. But what a Pleasant Surprise!

When we arrived, Cheryl had set up the balcony area adjoining our room so we could enjoy a relaxing moment after a long day drive. Arriving at the restaurant for dinner later than expected, we were informed by the owner that she had phoned ahead to make sure they would wait for us.

The next morning, after a good night sleep, we were amazed by the quality of her breakfast. Everything you can imagine in a B&B was sitting on the table.

Makes you want to stay in Nova Scotia and forget about the crossing.

Lise & Jacques, Morin-Heights, Qc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 64 King Street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sydney B&B, tastefully decorated with antiques and art work on a tree-lined lot, 3 minutes from the Newfoundland Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamber's Guest House Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.