We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Victorian Home and Gracious Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
64 King Street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 North Sydney B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Victorian Home and Gracious Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The house is a feast for the eyes both inside and out. There are beautiful antiques everywhere you look...lamps, dishes, furniture...and yet the rooms have all the modern amenities.

We stayed in the guest room on the main floor with the private bath. The room is quiet, comfortable and beautifully decorated. A great idea would be to plan on using the entire house for a gathering of extended family or group of friends.

The veranda overlooks the specatular gardens. Sitting there takes you back to a time when the pace was more relaxed and is a wonderful place to unwind with a glass of wine or ice tea.

Cheryl was a gracious hostess and it is evident that she takes pride in providing personal service. She makes you feel very much at home.

Breakfast was plentiful and exceeded my expectations. The table setting was elegant.

Congratulations, Cheryl. You have a wonderful terrific guest house.

Room Tip: Main floor room with private bath is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millet, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

From the lush, beautiful gardens that greet you to the old-fashioned parlor every part of this B & B is sure to please. Our room was large, spacious and the private deck was an extra special surprise. Cheryl is a gracious pleasant host who makes a fabulous breakfast. It was a wonderful treat to stay here and a great value. Will most definitely include it in future trips to Cape Breton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

We found this B&B on the web and what a lovely place. The owner Cheryl is warm welcoming and friendly. She referred us to the Black Spoon restaurant and what a great recommendation ( see my review on this restaurant). The B&B is just wonderful full of teasures and antiques, which we were jealous of, to admire. Cheryl had a great selection for breakfast and it was delicious. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Thank you Cheryl for your lovely hospitality

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here one night prior to takingthe ferry. We had room 1 which shares a full bath with room 2, and has a double and a single. The matresses are older. Owner is friendly and helpful, the b&b has a nice outdoor veranda and is an easy walk to " downtown" North Sydney. Not a very nice town in our opinion, but it has a good restaurant, the black spoon. Breakfast is full, with eggs and cereal. Price/ quality is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chambersbb, Owner at Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
The restoration of my 135 year old home is a constant work in progress.
I appreciate all suggestions and comments that my guests make as my goal is to be the best B&B that I can be . Since I am in the business of selling a good nights sleep, I feel I have to rebuke the statement that my mattresses are older. I have replaced three mattresses in the last year that I considered needed updating. The double pillow top mattress in room # 1 is an excellent quality mattress and very comfortable from what I have been told. The single daybed mattress ,on the other hand ,is a bit older but still clean and serviceable and this is the first time anyone has had an issue with it. It shall become a priority on my list. I am constantly working to improve in the attempt to provide the best possible comfort and service for my guest . North Sydney is an 100 year old little seaport town. All road traffic to Newfoundland passes through here and we are only an hour's drive from most of the major attractions on Cape Breton Island. t is quiet, the people are friendly and it is a nice place to live or visit. It is true that North Sydney has lost a lot of its former glory but we do have quite a nice water front development with board walks ,band shell and play area. There is usually entertainment at near-by, Indian Beach, during the evenings in summer months. We also have some excellent restaurants and you can sit and enjoy a ice cream on the water front after a delicious supper.
Thanks Cheryl Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed in late June before sailing to Newfoundland the next morning. We were very pleased with Cheryl's hospitality and the comfort her home provided. We paid $75 for a second floor room with a shared bath, but since we were the only guests that night, it was the same as an ensuite. The home is beautifully decorated with antiques and she has tons and tons of books to sample. Breakfast was fine. Wi-fi worked without a hitch. The house is just a few blocks from the ferry, too. We will be returning for another night after coming back from Newfoundland in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Cheryl was delightful and extremely friendly. We felt very much at home so we stayed on our way to Newfoundland and when we returned. She is just a few minutes from the Ferry. We were so glad that we booked with her on our return trip since the ferry was delayed due to bad weather.
We loved our room located on the main floor. The bed was very comfortable and the room was decorated in antiques. She had a lovely back porch overlooking her gardens that was peaceful.
Cheryl recommended two restaurants that we tried and both were great.
We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in North Sydney if we went back. She made us feel right at home.
Her breakfast was amazing. She taps her own maple syrup, uses chives from her garden, homemade loafs and jam, it was an excellent breakfast that we would enjoy having again.
You will not be disappointed - it is a must stay in North Sydney!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

There is so much to explore inside of the charming Chamber's Guest house. It is like entering a 'treasure chest' and finding many unique objects that bring the past to the present. Painted ceramics, fringed and beaded lamp shades, and antique furniture create a welcoming and 'homey' aesthetic. The hospitality was wonderful, the breakfasts were delicious, and the bedroom was more than comfortable.

The Cabot Trail is close by as well as Louisbourg. Great location!

Cheryl, thanks for all, and we'll be back.

Carl & Richard

Room Tip: First floor bedroom is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 64 King Street, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A North Sydney B&B, tastefully decorated with antiques and art work on a tree-lined lot, 3 minutes from the Newfoundland Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamber's Guest House Bed And Breakfast North Sydney, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.