We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort food, great waiter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill

Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill
79 Robie Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
902-895-6699
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 83 Restaurants in Truro
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Amherst, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great comfort food, great waiter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped in on Sunday evening just after 6 and though it was busy, we got a table right away. Our waiter was very good, and was just the right combination of attentive and humorous to want us to come back. I had the potpie since I was in need of some comfort food, and it did not disappoint. 2 at our table had ordered pop, and rather than have to wait to get refills, a pitcher was brought to our table just as one person had finished his first round. We had a great time, everything was clean, and well presented, as well as brought to the table quickly. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novia Scotia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We always visit Truro Swiss Chalet, food and service are always excellent, you feel welcome and at home in this nice little restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Skin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Love Swiss Chalet! Their chicken is the best, but the skin is my favorite part. Always a great, inexpensive meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always come here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Nothing fancy or special but the service is usually great and the food is good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We ate here on April 20th. I had a 1/2 chicken dinner. It was undercooked; inside near the bones was red and the flesh was undercooked around it. I tried to avoid eating those areas but still got the runs the next day. I don't often run across this problem at Swiss Chalet but I think that when they get busy they take the chickens out of the roaster too soon. People need to ask them to take the meal back but you know us Canadians - we don't complain BUT WE DON"T GO BACK! Swiss C is also getting pricey!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.