We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on our route to Nova Scotia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast
913 Pictou Road, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Truro B&B and Inns
amersfoort
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B on our route to Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at this gorgious B&B on our route to Nova Scotia. Larry and Ann made us feel King and Queen, and made us feel at home from the first minute when we arrived. We stayed in the master bedroom, a very nice room, clean and spacious. We loved the great breakfast! The B&B is well located near the highway into Nova Scotia. A B&B to remember!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
157
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A really good B & B with two lovely hosts Ann and Larry. A truly beautiful home. We had the master suite which was lovely. The breakfast was yummy with lots of fresh fruit. They both made us feel right at home. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After landing in Halifax, we made the short drive to Truro and stayed at the Tulips and Thistle B&B. it was a wonderful first night experience. Larry and Ann were the perfect hosts. Our every need was taken care of. Take a tip from me and order the chef's choice for breakfast. It was the best breakfast I had during my 2weeks in Nova Scotia, and I had many superb breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a first for me... I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. Our experience was exceptional and Larry and Ann were very welcoming and caring! The breakfasts were well done with a nice variety. Prior to us arriving, Larry answered many questions i had regarding location and accommodations via email and he responded immediately to my requests. The home is lovely and the Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast is a top notch facility! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door it was apparent that this B & B was going to be something special. Ann and Larry greeted us as if we were long lost family returning home.

The Tulip and Thistle is a beautiful home, lovingly decorated and the food.......outstanding!! It is everything you want in a B&B and more.

By far the most wonderful part of our experience was the graciousness of our hosts, Ann and Larry. We have found that the B & B experience is about people and it is gratifying to meet such wonderful people in our travels.

We highly recommend the Tulip and Thistle to anyone traveling to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although our stay with Larry and Ann was very brief it was excellent and we would highly recommend staying at Tulips and Thistles. They helped us find a restaurant that was open late and offered assistance when I discovered my debit card was missing. Room was immaculate and breakfast was terrific, we even had 5 different breakfast options we could choose from!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a really lovely stay with Ann and Larry at the end of May but unfortunately it was all too short as we were trying to pack in so much of Nova Scotia on our trip.

We really loved the restaurant they recommended to us on our arrival - the asked what type of food and experience we liked and suggested "Roadside Willies" - and it certainly hit the spot for us.

We had a really restful sleep and the breakfast the next morning was excellent and set us up for the days travel back in to Halifax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 913 Pictou Road, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulips And Thistle Bed & Breakfast Truro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulips and Thistle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.