We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Truro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Truro to your Saves list
Super 8 Truro
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   85 Treaty Trail, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    28
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
31
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baddeck
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have a small scale dog breeding program here in remote Cape Breton. Sometimes my family plans to stay at your hotel in order to meet up with families who are buying a puppy. We arrange to meet with them in the lobby early evening after check in, then enjoy an overnight stay as a treat for our kids.

I was on one such visit this past December and feel the need to compliment your staff on the outstanding service they offered us.

Brian was working the front desk at your Truro location, and he made us all feel like valued customers. He also went out of his way to help out with our clients who met us there.

Several of my clients who are coming from far away also spend the night there at the hotel with their new addition.

We are a Super 8 family for certain.

Love the waterslide, etc. but especially the service.

Thanks.

Special compliments to Brian!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Cassandra
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stays with us at the Super 8 Truro. We agree, we are very fortunate to have excellent staff such as Bryant working with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your entire family (two and four legged!) back again soon.
Regards, Alana H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Truro Super 8 in November and December of 2013. I was on a business trip for St.F.X.U. The staff assigned me a lovely suite on the first floor, facing the back parking lot, where it was more quiet and away from the highway traffic.The suites had been recently updated. The duvet bedding was so comfortable. The suite was very clean and modern. There were two flat screen tv's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom.

The front desk employees were so accommodating. I didn't have my printer with me, so I was unable to print what I needed for my student teacher supervisions. The staff went out of their way to print off my material for me both times I stayed at the motel. Thanks so much for that!

The breakfast was very good and there was ample choice. The coffee was really good. I had the opportunity to take a dip in the pool and soak in the hot tub. I had the pool and hot tub all to myself.

I will certainly be staying here again in the spring when I resume my work with St.F.X. Even though I live an hour away from Truro, it's good to know that you can stay at such a wonderful motel with great service.

Thanks again and see you in March and April.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the back of the motel and away from the major highway traffic. Most of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Joan S
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stays at the Super 8 Hotel in Truro, NS. We are pleased that you enjoyed your refurbished Junior Suite with two flat screen TV's. Rooms on our second floor are scheduled to be refurbished this spring, so you may want to try one of those next time you stay. We appreciate the time you took to post your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again later this year.
Regards,
Alana H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here with my bf and daughter for one night. Even though our visit was short, we enjoyed every minute. Staff was super friendly, rooms were very clean and not outdated like some places we had previously stayed. Beds were comfy with duvets that were nice. My daughter and I had a blast at the pool! Omg the water slide is awesome! The breakfast was good. There was actually more options than what I thought there would be; the coffee was very good as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Angela E
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Super 8 Hotel in Truro, NS. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the pool with 80 foot waterslide and our complimentary SuperStart Breakfast. I love the coffee too!
Regards,
Alana H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few Holiday Inn hotels and they never seem to disappoint me. This one in Truro is a great place to stay. It's quiet (once past check in) and the check in staff is very polite and professional. The rooms are clean and receptive. They are the standard hotel room with the standard options, so unless you are staying some place special, most hotels can only be separated by cleanliness, staff and location. This place succeeds in all three.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana H, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Rick K
Thank you for your comments regarding our sister property, the Holiday Inn. I have passed your posting along to Susan S, their General Manager. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay, and hope to see you back in the area in the near future.
Alana H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Truro

Address: 85 Treaty Trail, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Truro 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an 80ft waterslide and family pool, Free SuperStart breakfast, High Speed Internet, Local Calls and parking. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker, iron/board in all rooms. Pet Friendly. Discounts at local Restaurants. Guest Laundry on site. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Truro
Truro Super 8
Truro Super Eight
Super 8 Truro Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Truro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.