We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Truro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Truro to your Saves list
Super 8 Truro
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   85 Treaty Trail, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Super 8 was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had just flown in to the Halifax Airport and had planned to drive through to Fredericton, but there was a heavy downpour, so we stopped at the Super 8 beside the TCH. They had room for us, and the room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Best of all, we heard no noise from the highway, so we all got a good night's sleep. In the morning, they had a great continental breakfast with lots of items to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
58
33
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

A good spot to stay over on a long trip. Pool had decent waterslide.

We arrived very late at night. A snafu had put us in a smoking room with two queens. No non-smoking rooms were left. they upgraded us to a non-smoking junior suite at no charge.

Simple breakfast in the lobby - warm boiled eggs.

Room Tip: Best price - was online at super8.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments about your stay with us. Also thank you for your tip on where you found the best deal. I encourage all guests to look at all the available avenues they have at their disposal for any hotel stay they are planning. There are amazing deals out there for sure!
We look forward to see you again!

Cathy Patterson
General Manager
Super 8 Truro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We met up with family for a night in Truro. The plus was that they let us park a car for free for four nights. Here are the negatives....We booked the hotel through our visa points so we didn't know the price until we checked in. It was $173 in a small town, unbelievable, we had a beautiful hotel in downtown Halifax for $90 per night and were treated like royalty. We could hear the people above us as they walked and talked and the hall noise was ridiculous. We asked for extra pillows and were told they didn't have any. To top it off the continental breakfast was pretty bleak at 9:30 everything was picked over. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, no value and bare essentials. None of us had a good nights sleep. The staff were ok but the rest speaks for itself. In a smaller Atlantic town I'm sure there are better options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write you review concerning your stay with us. I am very sorry your stay was not pleasant. Please know that at any hotel you stay, if you have a problem please call the front desk right away. They can usually get the problem resolved right away for you. I agree you recieved an amazing deal in Halifax, I personally love getting deals like that as well. Again, I would like to say how sorry I am that you did not have the stay I would like all of our guests to have, one that they can't wait to come back again. Your comments will be used to improve our hotel, and service.

Cathy Patterson
General Manager
Super 8 Truro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax NS
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

i stayed here for 1 night and we had a one bedroom suite , it had a seperate place for tv and couch and mini fridge and then the bed was in the back of the room the hotel is nice and clean and in good shape but the staff checked us in and then called in the middle of the night says my credit card didnt come thru as there was an issue with there machine and i had to get out of bed to come down and try it again.. the pool is neat there is a few resturants and gas stations and a movie theatre within walking distance and downtown truro is not to far away

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your stay with us. Any feedback we recieve is welcome, and we try to use all feedback to improve on our service, and hotel. It is wonderful when we recieve really good posts such as yours, so thank you again. I am sorry about you being woken up through the night. That should not have happened. I hope you will come to visit with us again on your next trip to Truro!

Cathy Patterson
General Manager
Super 8 Truro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Great room with fridge, microwave, 2 comfy queens,coffee maker, entensive self serve complementary breakfast, great staff at front desk.
We were flying home from Halifax airport in am. Was about a 40 minute drive. Hotel is located on south end of Truro. Exit to hwy was right there.
Great new restaurant "Saltscapes" about 3 doors up.
Would definately stay here again if we are ever back to Nova Scotia.
We did not use the indoor pool although it looked nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you on your next visit!



Cathy Patterson
General Manager
Super 8 Truro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I spent a night in this Super 8 hotel two nights ago. We had been driving all day and were eager to enjoy some relaxation time. We were greeted by a young man behind the desk who was very pleasant, polite and helpful. We needed some extra pillows and towels that evening and he was quick to assist us. My husband and I spent the evening tossing and turning, and when we got out of bed in the morning my husband quickly realized what the problem had been. The boxspring on our bed was broken. We let the girls behind the front desk know and all they said was that they would let the maintenance man know. No apologies or anything. Needless to say this cancelled out our positive experience in the evening. We will not be returning here next time; customer service is indeed what makes or breaks a business.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
I am very sorry to hear you did not have a good night sleep. We want all of our guests to have a great experience when they stay with us. Please know that the problem has been addressed.I agree you should have recieved an apology, so I hope you will accept mine. I also ensure all staff are aware of any guest comments, so we may look for ways to improve guest service. I want to thank you for your comments, without those we cannot improve.

Cathy Patterson
General Manager
Super 8 Truro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed here for a week whilst on recce trip to Nova Scotia. We chosechose the Truro super 8 (mainly because the room price was the cheapest of all the accommodation quotes that we were quoted for) and are so glad we did.

· The room was clean with room service coming in EVERY day to make beds, empty bins & replace towels, toilet rolls & soaps etc.

· ALL the staff we came into contact with were very exceptionally friendly,helpful & nothing was too much trouble.

· The continental breakfast was more than adequate & enough for everyone.

· We didn't use the pool but it looked nice & seemed ideal for kids.

· Brilliant location

· The bed was the comfiest we had ever slept in with ample bed clothes.

· Free wifi and local calls in the room was a bonus

also the room heating\air con was good as well

If i had to think of a negative it would be that there wasn't enough hanging space for clothes in the room but we did stay for a wk & majority of guests probably stay only a night or so, so wouldn't be a problem but really it wasnt a major problem for us.

For anyone considering this hotel don't be put off by previous reviews and give it a go.

Carole & Martin

· The continental breakfast was more than adequate and plenty for everyone

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8t, General Manager at Super 8 Truro, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
I am very happy to hear your stay with us wonderful. All the staff take pride in trying to make sure everyone has a great experience, and a great time. As with any business there are always areas that need to be improved upon. The difference with the Super 8 Truro is we really care and take all of our comments to heart. They are used as a learning tool to improve in any and all ways that we can. Our guest comments are extremely important to us, I thank you so much for your kind words about your time with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to have you back again!

Cathy Patterson
General Manager
Super 8 Truro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Truro

Address: 85 Treaty Trail, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 5A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Truro 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an 80ft waterslide and family pool, Free SuperStart breakfast, High Speed Internet, Local Calls and parking. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker, iron/board in all rooms. Pet Friendly. Discounts at local Restaurants. Guest Laundry on site. Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Truro
Truro Super 8
Truro Super Eight
Super 8 Truro Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Truro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.