We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is like my home away from home. We love this hotel and the rooms are super clean and comfy. The breakfast is full of delicious choices.... my only problem is that I want to try a bit of everything. The staff is very approachable and helpful at all times. ...like family after awhile. All in al I highly recommend this hotel for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. We try our best to exceed our guests expectations and hope that we succeed. Our goal is to make our guests feel special and feel at home. Our whole team is thrilled that you feel that way about us. We look forward to your next visit with us. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    24
    7
    20
See reviews for
42
44
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Minas, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This would have been a great hotel, except for the front desk staff. They were a disappointment from start to finish. Though the hotel was otherwise great, I would be reluctant to return because of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Claudine/JillL
Thank you for your very positive comments on our property and we appreciate them. I am disappointed, however, with the issue you had at our front desk. We have checked into your problem and reviewed all policies with the whole team and assure you this problem will not happen to another guest.
We thank you for your concerns.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

it was a very clean room , staff was very friendly , wifi was good , we were looking for hotel in truro , and other hotels were full , so we went to bestwestern and got the very last room , and the room was very nice , located in nice area , , it was very worth the money , bathroom was very nice and clean and everything had a very nice clean sent in the room , very lovely it was , and yes its woth the stay at best western plus , hotel , everything there is great :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear 541traveler:
Our entire team here at the BWPLUS Glengarry thanks you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased you found all our amenities and services to your fullest expectations. We look forward to being able to host you again on your next trip to Truro. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is probably the largest hotel in Truro and even though it is centrally-located, a little bit more attention to detail - and a little better customer service would keep them in the top tier as compared to the same brand - or even the same level/quality of hotel in other towns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Peter G: Thank you for your recent review of our property. I would love to hear more about your experience while our guest as you refer to attention to detail and better customer service. Your comments are wonderful regarding our potential but I would like to hear more. Call me anytime at 902 893 4311 Ext. 275 and let me know more details as the two areas you mention are of utmost importance to us. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was an older Best Western. It seemed to be well maintained. The front desk were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and found it to be adequate. The breakfast was a choice, order off of the menu or the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear CincyBob: We are very pleased to took time to review our property and thank you for your very positive comments. Although we are an older facility (1985 with expansion in 2002), compared to some of our wonderful new properties in N.S. and N.B. we have tried to keep our property updated and well maintained to serve our guests as well as they deserve. Actually we are mid way through another reno, so hopefully if you come our way again you will come and stay with us to see all we have done. Our whole teams thanks you for your comments. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed just one night, 12th September, had a dog so we were accommodated in the old motel part that affords no indoor communication to the Hotel itself and dining room, pool, etc. $128 plus tax. Room was just fine but the wifi did not work, was told that the motel type accommodation did not have good wifi. Went for a drink in the bar at 8.00pm but was told that it was closed.
An hotel with no bar is like an egg with no salt. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear BluenoseNorthSydney: We appreciate you taking time to review our property. Thank you for your kind positive comments on certain areas of our property. We take all comments to help improve our facility and service to our guests. You were in our exterior building which is pet friendly. I checked into your complaint about WIFI and we haven't been able to figure out what went wrong because we have Fibre Op and top of the lline hard wired and WIFI in both buildings. Unfortunately, you were here on the evening that our bar was closed for a private function - sorry we weren't able to provide this service to you but hopefully, the next time you are in the area you will try us again and hopefully, our extensive renovations that are taking place on our exterior building will be complete. Thank you again. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Friendly,helpful staff but disappointed to be put in the old, back motel instead of in the new building. I presume it is because we had a pet. The beds were comfortable and the linens upgraded but the bathroom did not meet Best Western standards. Breakfast was good in the hotel's
restaurant, either a buffet or order off the menu as part of your room price. There was no pet fee but the price was the same as the Best Western we stayed at the night before in Saint John that was much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear SRConnelly - Thank you for your review of our property. Yes, you were in our pet friendly building and I'm sorry it didn't live up to your expectations. We are in the process of completely renovating that building inside and out but haven't completed all guest rooms as yet - new vanities, drapes, sheers, linens etc. We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and hope that if you are in our area again you will see all our improvements. Thank you again for taking time to review our property. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.