We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Inconsistent Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our reservation for one night in June apparently didn't come through, but the front desk manager was extremely nice and helpful, and he got us checked in anyway. However, we were charged a higher rate than I expected, and unfortunately I didn't catch it at check-in. This became apparent the next day at checkout, and the front desk staff then were not nice and helpful. I eventually realized that the misunderstanding was mine, but the attitude at the front desk did not make it a pleasant resolution.
The on-site restaurant was OK, but very unremarkable. It was recommended as the 2nd best restaurant in Truro - the bar there must not be very high.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are supposedly better than those in the back building (across from the sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bill O: Thank you for taking time to review our property. I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations in some aspects but we take all suggestions and comments to improve for future.'We hope you had an overall nice trip and hope you'll visit again in the future.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    21
    5
    19
See reviews for
40
44
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We rented a king-sized bedroom for an overnight. Room was a bit dated, bathroom was a bit small. Due to the single king-sized bed, they had room for a small conversation area. Free Wi-Fi and nice television with lots of selections. Nice and quiet. Very clean. Staff was helpful in finding a nice place to eat away from the hotel. Pool seemed a bit small, but had both in/out and whirlpool. Price was right too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear REDSFamily Seek
Thank you very much for your nice review of our property. Glad you like our facility and we are in the process of a large renovation i.e. new bathrooms etc.
Thanks again for your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit to see our changes.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying here with work on over a dozen occassions. I find the level of service to be second to none! The staff are very accomodating & helpfull. They go out of their way to ensure your stay is nothing short of perfect. I continue to stay here whenever I'm in the Truro area & I have also used their Conference rooms for work functions. Whether its a small or large function, the staff at Best Western Glengarry have it down to a science...I even had them create a special dessert last minute which was done to perfection. I can't say enough about the location & the service level provided. As well, special thanks to Carl Cox whom has assisted me on several occasions and is simply amazing at what he does! I'm looking forward to my next viusit for sure!

Room Tip: The suites are amazing, bottom floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ed J.:
Thank you very much for your great review of our property. Our whole team is very pleased to hear you recieve great service and quality accommodations each and every time you stay with us. Carl and his Sales Team are very good at what they do and thank you for mentioning them by name. It's wonderful to be appreciated but equally important that we have exceeded your expectations of what we strive to do for all our guests.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay as a result of a business meeting and need to commend the conference service staff for their supreme service levels. The names Darlene and Lucy stand out to me though you could tell very easily that the whole crew loved their jobs and showed it which, to me, reflects the management of the whole facitity My check in by the phone was the quickest, simplest and most pleasant experience ever checking in. IF I was responsible for booking meetings/conventions in this area..there would ne no other choice. Thank you and congrats on a job well done

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mike B: Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property on your recent stay. We do have a great staff and they really appreciate hearing from the customer that their stay exceeded their expectations.
We do realize that service is most important and we all appreciate hearing that your experience was a great one. Remember us the next time you are in the Truro area.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed two nights, May 22,23, 2013. Good parking, very helpful at front desk, The room was very clean and done up nice. I had meals at the Hotel both days, vey well priced and very good meals. I can only say #1.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear air2011:
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for complimenting us on all our amenities and glad you enjoyed our food and service in our dining room. Our staff is always happy to hear that we have satisfied our guests as we should. Thank you again.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.