We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay in Truro :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Truro, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My stay in Truro :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my dad. Just want to start by saying I wish it was me that stayed at this hotel! My dad has the best things to say about the staff and how his stay is when he's there ! They are kind ,clean and make my dad feel like he is home :) he is at this hotel 2 ce a week on business and tells me that the girls make sure he has everything he needs coffee, towels ect .. I would like to finish by saying that the management at this hotel have really made it top priority to take very good care of there guest and I promised it will be an awesome stay for you as we'll :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Chris S.
Thank you for writing a review on behalf of your Dad. We are glad he is happy with our staff, service and that he has all he needs when he's our guest. He is here so many nights most of our staff know him so it's kind of "his home away from home"! We appreciate your remarks on his behalf and we always look forward to his stays. Thank you again. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    21
    5
    19
See reviews for
40
44
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at Best Western Glengarry along with others on May 16th and I wanted to thank you for the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I was in 307. It was a bed fit for a king! My highest praise for whoever makes up the beds as it was sheer luxury to slid into it last night and I most certainly didn't want to leave this morning. Everything was absolutely luxurious.

As well, thanks to the person at the front counter and the person who checked my room for my shaving kit after I had left the room and I apologize for having already packed the kit and the person who had to go up to check had to do so even though I had not left it there.

Also, enjoyed the lady who played in the bar and the seven of us enjoyed it greatly and then I met a few guys in the pool and the bartender, a sweet young lady, brought me my order of a glass of red wine in to where I was sitting in the pool area.

Lastly, the complimentary breakfast, and the serving staff, were totally awesome this morning. Everything was beautifully cooked and displayed on beautiful dishes and the breakfast area is once again fit for a king.

My stay with Best Western Glengarry was extraordinary. Thank you for making your hard work my pleasure and relaxation !!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the quieting view from my Room 307 which was the pool and the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear David D.
Our whole team here at our property thank you so much for your glowing remarks about our facility, our staff and our service. We always hope that our effort is exceeding our guests expectations but it's really nice to hear from the guest.
We hope you will return to stay with us again when you are in the Truro area!
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the friendly greeting at the front desk, I felt very comfortable here.
A cook to order breakfast in the attached hotel was very welcome.
The rooms were clean and comfortable; with a roomy shower and good quality towels.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Tombassinger:
Thank you for your great review of our property. We try very hard to exceed our guests expectations and are glad when we succeed. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your hot breakfast and room amenities.
Thank you again and hope you to see you in the future.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Mother's Day Brunch at B/W Glengarry Hotel was marvelous - Lots of tables for large groups in the ballroom - but not to close together - it didn't feel crowded at all! Wide tables made conversation possible for all at the table.
Anna on the buffet keep all the food well stocked and carved a mean prime rib of beef - she was very friendly and interacted with a smile and laugh for all!
Denise our server, who gave up her own Mother's Day to serve us with professional aplomb - was very friendly and should be commended for helping make my Mother-In-Law's day very special.
Thank you and congratulations to all the folks at the Best Western Plus Glengarry Hotel - I am convinced that you are once again THE place for special events in Truro!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Caven: Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. Our whole team was very pleased you and your family enjoyed our Mother's Day Brunch. Your nice comments re Anna and Denise were very well received and all our staff work very hard to please the customer.
Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The room was a little cramped two beds in a small space. The room was clean and so was the hotel. I enjoyed the evening dinner. The complimentary breakfast that came with the plus room was more than adequate. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Bustox of Windsor - thank you for your nice review of our property. We try to exceed our guests expectations of hospitality but cleanliness is a must. Our staff are always pleased when we have accomplished our goal. We get lots of compliments on our breakfast service and glad you enjoyed also. Look forward to your return stay with us.
Regards, Judy N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This would be your basic budget stay. I found everything on the old and worn side. The Lobby is not well thought out. The attached restaurant is not that good. The rooms are looking a little smaller, more drab and have an overall shabby appearance. The pool is old and cold. Service is good. The plus can be its location, for example if you have to attend NSCC for any reason it is very close by, my reason for using this hotel. I prefer the Super 8 and for good reason. In short, this is priced the same as the more modern Super 8 and pales slightly in comparison.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Shrekman1969
I was disappointed that we failed to live up to your recent expectations but thank you for your review. We take all comments from our guests and address each one as we should.
We are in the middle of a lot of renovations and I'm sure our guests will see a lot of differences in the very near future.
Again, thank you for taking time to review our property.
Regards, Judy N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have to say that I was very impressed with this hotel's service. I stayed there twice during the week, one night the first time and then two nights later on during my visit to Nova Scotia. The first was a quick in and out. Rooms were clean, spacious. There was a note that there would be no housekeeping that day because it was a holiday and the staff had the day off. Then the unthinkable happened and the hair dryer was dead.. I hesitated to call figuring no one would be able to help me and the manager answered and within 3 minutes I had a man at my door to take a look. No luck and a few minutes later I had a new one to use. When I checked out that day both the manager and front desk gal were very friendly. The next time I was there we had a ground floor room and didn't realize that there was a door to the outside which was so convenient. We were able to bring over family to use the swimming pool for an hour without any problems. The morning we checked out we finally had time to take advantage of the free breakfast. What a deal! There was a restaurant in the hotel and your free breakfast included your choiec of yogurt or fruit, then eggs, potatoes, meat, juice, coffee, etc. No buffet. You order from the table and the waitress brings it. Couldn't believe the amount of food we got and it was all included in the price! There is also a lounge in there and we got to listen to some live music one night by a local artist. Nice way to end the evening. When checking out there were some conferences going on and the manager was having her staff photocopy booklets for the group and everything (something that should have probably been done prior to coming to their meeting lol). This hotel was just extremely accommodating, I'm sure they do very well in Truro. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Tanya C
Thank you for taking time to write your glowing review of our property. It's so uplifting for owners and staff, that try so hard to please and provide all guests with the product and service they deserve, to hear that we've succeeded.
You covered almost every aspect of our property and again, we do appreciate your comments and thank you again.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Truro.
Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.