We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great pool, great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here two nights in August 2012. The Glengarry staff were so helpful and friendly, speaking nicely to the children too. The recption staff understood that all that interested them were the pools ! We arrived quite late after a long drive, but the indoor pool is open very long hours. We made really good use of the water very early and late both nights.
The room was shingingly clean, spacious, quiet and the most comfortable beds of all the hotels we used. The air condiitoning worked everso well and easily.
Easy to find, conveneint location, lots of parking. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are happy we could meet and surpass your expectations. We get a lot of compliments on our two pools (especially families with children) and on our great beds. Thank you again for your comments and our whole team will be happy they made your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit when back in our area. Have a good day. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    21
    5
    19
See reviews for
40
44
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our 3rd trip out east and 3rd time at the Glengarry Hotel. I can't find anything bad to say about it. We arrived with a flat tire and a staff member brought over his air compressor and pumped it up for us.. We found our room clean with microwave and fridge. The beds are very comfortable, staff very friendly, nice indoor and outdoor swimming pools and the breakfast which is included was wonderful. You got your choice of fruit salad or juice, eggs, bacon,ham or sausage, choice of hash browns, beans or hash, toast and coffee. It kept us going all day while we toured around the province. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I was traveling with my mother and my sister. I did not see the fitness center or spa. We have enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of our property. Due to our wonderful warm summer this year our outdoor pool was a definate hit. I am glad to hear our complete team looked after your every need and you found our property comfortable and to your expectations and ours.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit "down east".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family visited this hotel about two months ago as we have two small children and my husband is in a wheelchair. Although this hotel provides minimal "accessable" rooms, the accessable rooms they do offer do not offer double accomadations, but rather only "king" rooms which makes it difficult for a family of four. My husband, although strictly dependent on his chair for mobility, is otherwise very independant and flexible needing only an accessable entrance, spacious washroom and of course space for access to the bed. With this, often the normal rooms of many hotels are perfectly suitable. We had hoped this to be the case with the Glengarry, unfortunately it was not, but they do offer a few "accessable rooms" and so we "thought" we were safe. As anyone might guess, having a family member in a wheelchair means you MUST make sure you reserve your accessable room, as such as in this case, just any room won't do. To make matters worse, when it is a group event, such as the case for our reservation, it is not just a simple matter of choosing another hotel for your family. A reunion has been planned for eight little girls who came home from China seven years ago and this was the hotel chosen to be our reunion location. My husband and I wanted to be assured of no error in an accessable room so that we could bring our seven year old daughter to her China-sisters reunion. We feel it is important for her to at the very least be in the same hotel with our group and wanted no surprises upon our arrival. My husband and I, along with our seven and five year old made a special trip to Truro about two months prior to our scheduled reunion date to be assured we could make appropriate accomadation reservations "in person". The front desk clerk was helpful in allowing us to see the main floor double room, however it was not an option as the access to the washroom was not possible with a small doorway, etc (common in older buildings). We then looked at a King room and again the same situation. We thought we could do with the King "accessable" room so long as there was space for a cot to accommadate our family. Needless to say, once the cot is set up, there would have to be enough space for the wheelchair to access at least the bed or cot (some staff actually don't think of that). The day we visited, the accessable rooms were occupied and so we could not view them to make sure of this and the desk clerk wasn't sure himself. On the other hand, with the suite which would accommadate our family with space, we were not sure about the washroom door width and space and neither was the clerk. To play it safe we booked both the Accessable King room and the Suite until we were able to find out it a cot was going to fit in the wheelchair room. Today we attempted to find out which room was going to work for certain and the front desk tells us our reservation is for a King room and a Double room both on the second floor of the MOTEL unit for which has no elevator and is not even in the main building!! As if this was not enough to totally upset us and concern us, todays front desk clerk could care less about the situation and gave the indication that those were the rooms "we" booked!! She took no responsibility on behalf of the hotel for obviously changing our rooms in ignorance, or at the other extreme a very slack, sloppy, and inept front desk clerk who made the reservation in our presence. There is very little question in my mind that this young man who knew our concern and situation that day; who gave us the keys to look at rooms; who talked to me specifically about our request to be in the main building as opposed to the detached motel; talked to our two little girls... could ever had made the reservation for our family in two regular rooms on the second floor (no elevator) of the detached motel unit!! No, nobody could possibly be that inadequate and work for a hotel! Somebody else carelessly must have took it upon themself to change our rooms around to accommadate a more favourable customer... perhaps the lady I spoke to today who was so cold, uncaring and defensive to my emotions. The lady who indicated "too bad, so sad" those rooms are booked with large groups who supposedly have been booked for a year. When I mentioned our group and gave the name, she said "no, that is not a large group" as if to say "your business means nothing to us". To repeat to me over and over again that our reservation is on the second floor for which was absolutely no use to our family, was nothing more than a slap in the face. She only indicated "finally" after much frustration on my part that she would attempt to juggle the reservations and get us on the bottom floor of that motel unit with no indication if the bottom floor rooms were even wheelchair accessable (specifically can my husband get to the washroom and bed). With this, of course she tells me there are no garentees as people already have reservations in those rooms. The heck with the so-called reservations we had two months ago... not once did this woman offer an apology or even concern for the mishap. It was as if she was indicating we fabricated the whole thing and it was "our" fault for being stupid enough to reserve two rooms on the second floor of a building that has no wheelchair access to the second floor, let-a-lone an accessable room! Unreal.... the worst customer service I have ever experienced in my life for which has been 40+ years!

Room Tip: If you have specified a specific room, or area for that room, better check well ahead of time to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of this most unfortunate and embarassing incident that has occurred to you and your family at our hotel.
We could offer you a full explanation with all kinds of excuses, however, we will not insult your intelligence by trying to do so. We do, however, sincerely apologize to you and your family as we fell asleep at the wheel by not writing in your reservation "DO NOT MOVE".
Our front desk supervisor has been in contact with your husband and he is aware that we have assigned you to room 118 which is on the main floor and is wheel chair accessible. We have arranged to have a cot in the room before your arrival and will ensure it fits enabling the wheel chair to have easy access. We will also be leaving a $50.00 Best Western gift card at the front desk for you to use either here or at another Best Western property of your choice.
We do look forward to having you and your family with us for the weekend and will do our best to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. I am sure your young daughters are very excited about the event. Thank you again and look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Checked into a regular room with a king size bed, the cleanliness was something that nobody would desire as there were hairs all over the toilet and bathroom sink, the tub had liquid that had dripped out of the shampoo dispenser that was on the shower wall all over the wall and bottom of tub, the lighting was dim and the furniture was very out dated and worn, the overall un-cleanliness made us decide not to stay here in this room. Upon complaining, the night-clerk offered us a free up-grade to make up for the ugly which actually turned out for our good, we were offered a honeymoon suite which was spacious, very pleasant atmosphere (which did still have the outdated furnishings but well placed) this room had very ample lighting and was spotlessly clean. So in the end, we did have a pleasant experience and a great nights sleep which did make up for the bad and ugly start.
I would not recommend this hotel if you like modern facilities, but I can say that the staff did go above and beyond to make things right and they did include 2 breakfast vouchers as well. The restaurant was very slow and the breakfast would not have been worth paying for...sorry Best Western, two thumbs down for this stay experience.

Room Tip: If you like clean and modern, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Firstly, our sincere apologies for your not so perfect stay at our hotel recently. No apologies can make up for your experience in the first room you were assigned but I'm happy that our desk clerk was able to upgrade you to a suite and that room had the cleanliness that we expect along with our guests. We investigated the issue at the time and found out what happened with the room you had been assigned and have since rectified the problem. I will tell you, we were extremely disappointed to hear of your experience as that is not our quality of service and we expect much more. Hopefully, if you are in the area again you will visit us and allow us to show you our new renovations that are happening now and during the next few months. Again, our sincere apologies.. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We wanted an overnight stay having arrived at Halifax, on our way to Cape Breton. We have a very friendly welcome and a clean comfortable room. Everyting in the room worked, from Wifi to fridge. Quiet at night time.

The hotel had a nice looking swimming pool, but we did not use it.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was very acceptable with a goosd range of cooked food. We could have ordered a specific breakfast, but the buffet is very quick and easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your great review of your stay with us. So glad to hear all our amenities were up to your expectations. Our whole team works hard to create a friendly welcoming atmosphere with great service and we were pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. Thank you again and hopefully you will visit us again on a return trip to Cape Breton. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kip
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed overnight June 13,14, 2012 at the Glengarry. The hotel was clean and the room 270 looked like it had been recently redecorated. The beds were comfortable with fine bedding and quiet. The location is handy to all areas of Truro. We had breakfast in the dinning room one morning. The eggs & bacon were done perfectly however the homefries were not very tasty. Staff is friendly in the dinning room and at the front desk. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again when in the area.
It would help if the front doors could be opened automatically. Taking a luggage cart in and out was difficult.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of our property. We appreciate hearing the good and the not so good so we can improve to make your stay a better experience. You referred to our front doors being hard to open and inconvenient - I want to advise you that new automatic doors are on order and should be installed by the middle of July. We are also starting renos on our lobby and all new 42" flat screen TV's are arriving this week. Thank you again for your review and I hope you come back to experience our new look! Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stopped over for a night on our way home from Florida to surprise some other guests with CFFC. Their beds were the best most comfortable ones I have ever slept in. I hated to get up! It was wonderful, clean, courteous staff very nice overall facility. Parking was not a problem either. We didn't get to use the dining area but heard good things about it. Good convention areas.
I would definitely highly recommend this place to anyone. It has been around for a long time and it is very well kept. Staff are always fast, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend this place. It is a little pricey but well worth it. You can always ask abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you had a great experience and that you enjoyed the comfort of our new beds - we get a lot of "comfortable" comments on them!
Thank you for recommending our property and hopefully, the next time you are in Truro you will stay with us again and experience our dining room and great staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.