We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here overnight with my family on route to Cape Breton. We found the facilities to be very comfortable indeed and the staff were exceptionally friendly. As far as we were concerned the dining facilities also offered good value and although the furnishings may have been modest, so were the prices, but the quality was very good as was the service. We would definitely stay there again, particularly while the weather is good as there are indoor and outdoor pool options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for your positive review of our property on TripAdvisor. We try to answer our guests needs and are pleased when we have succeeded. Our indoor and outdoor pools are very popular with our guests - no matter what the weather you are covered! Our great staff were pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    24
    7
    20
See reviews for
42
44
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Nothing wrong with the rooms - good size - usual Best Western Standard, but restaurant was poor - server forgot to order appetizers, food modest. Nowhere else to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Glengarry Hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.. I am glad to know your rooms were satisfactory but am sorry that your dining experience in our restaurant was not. At your convenience, we would be greatly interested in hearing more about this so that we can improve so that a future guest does not have the same problem. I can be reached by email a jnicholson@bwglengarry.com or by calling 1 800 567 4276.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We took our 23 month old twins camping in Nova Scotia. We got rained out all day Saturday and our tent was soaked! We decided to pack up and head to the nearest hotel. We were camping in Pictou County and apparently all their hotels were booked due to the county lobster festival. We decided to drive to Truro and stay in the first hotel we found with an indoor pool. The locals directed us to the Glengarry Hotel. The staff was super helpful. The man at the desk said he would keep the pool open later for us, because our kids had been in the car all day and needed to expend some energy before bed. The rooms were great, beds super comfy, and the pool was a hit with the kids! The included hot breakfast was also a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our property! We try our best to exceed expectations of our guests and when we can make "little things" make your stay more enjoyable, then we have succeeded. In checking with the front desk and housekeeping staff to pass on your comments they remembered you and were pleased to hear you had a great stay also. We look forward to your next visit, maybe, even if you don't get rained out of your camping trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

we stayed here in july and was was well pleased,the room was large and very clean
the bathroom was clean with nice toiletries
staff rreally helpfull to us pair of old britts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, Best Western Plus Glengarry. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness and comfort of our guests is of utmost importance us and we are happy we fullfilled your needs. Thank you again and we look forward to another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We found the service here to be top-notch and the rate was a fine value. Had a great sleep and the room itself tastefully (enough) decorated and was cleaned ruthlessly well. :) Truro itself was a pleasant stopping point on our road trip to PEI, and the hotel is a slightly out of the way little gem that, honestly, is one of the more enjoyable BW stays in my experience with the chain. If making this trip again, we would do it exactly the same and stop here! The front desk staffers were so kind -- some of the best anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort020, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of our property! We are happy that all went well with your stay as we try to exceed our guests expectations and are pleased when we find that we were successful. We have great staff and we all look forward to greeting you on your next visit. Truro has lots to offer so plan to stay awhile on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We just stayed at the Best Western Glengarry in early June. This is a great hotel. Front desk staff is friendly upon arrival and our room was clean and comfortable. Weather was not the best to enjoy the outdoor pool but the kids enjoyed playing in the indoor pool. They have a buffet lunch each day in their restaurant that had a nice variety, and their menu has a large selection for everyone. We were able to use our laptop in the room with the available WiFi and they had a printer in the lobby on their business center computer for us to print out our maps as needed. We will definately stay here again on our next visit to Truro.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stopped for an over night on our way to Halifax. Read reviews by other guests and found them to be quite accurate. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, but overall we were disappointed in the room based on the price we paid for the night. Next time we would continue the extra hour to Halifax. Stayed in a 3yr old hotel in the harbor area, great room - same money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.