We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Truro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Truro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The front desk staff were excellent, very helpful. The room was small but very clean. The bathroom was very small, tub/shower and toilet, the sink is outside the bathroom. However it did have a large vanity which was very convenient. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable I have ever had in any hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    78
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
52
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pictou, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This property is a very updated property and a very comfortable place to stay,with very comfortable beds and pillows.The breakfast area is a very cozy area with fresh fruit and hot items.The stair case to walk up to the other floors is not right in the lobby.You must walk down a few steps off to the right of the elevator to find the stair case.This is much faster if you can walk up stairs.There was not any outside road noise as this is not on a busy road. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in nov. 2009 and i dont say this very often but the room was in MINT condition. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the room and services we received! I will recommend this hotel to anyone that want a mint room for a good price

I stayed in rm.327

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed there for one night and as we have a pet we had to stay on the first floor - not my first choice but we did have a pet. The bathroom is tiny- tub, shower and toilet - not great for a mid- large person - bathroom sink is outside very close to the entrance. Room itself is very comfortable with great beds and clean. Restaurant on site so you pay for all your meals including breakfast - a bit pricey but very good and lots of healthy food. Front check in staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Fee is charged for Pets - be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Linda154973,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room.Your comments encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would like to apologize your in-room bathroom fell below your expectations. We take our guest feedback very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pool is open until 11 but there's so many kids. A couple of weeks ago I stayed in a hotel that was adults only, 10-11.
The hot tub was great.
The guest laundry is out of the way. You have to go through the pool area and then you can't go back the way you came; you have to walk all the way around some meeting rooms.
Coffee maker, microwave and fridge, all add a nice homey touch.
The bed was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Tombassinger,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very clean, quiet place to stay with an excellent restaurant in-house. The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and more than willing to help the visitors in finding the best places to go in the area. The restaurant serves excellent quality food at reasonable prices. I highly recommend their hamburgers, made in house and not frozen. A real treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Truro was great! With its modern decor and friendly staff, we were given a warm welcome upon checking-in. Despite being about an hour earlier than the posted check-in time, we were given our room right away and were able to settle in.

The room itself was clean and well stocked with towels, pillows, and toiletries (the hand lotion was a nice touch). The microwave and mini-fridge were unexpected, but very handy to have in the room (especially for left-overs from a local restaurant).

The location of the hotel was great - within walking distance to downtown shops, victoria park, and the train/bus station.

We had breakfast at the restaurant both mornings of our stay. The first morning we had the breakfast buffet, and the second morning we ordered off the menu. The buffet was good, but I found it a bit over priced. The items we ordered from the menu the second morning were more reasonably priced. In future I would skip the buffet and order off the menu. We also had desserts one night, which were very nice.

The pool, fitness room, and games room all looked great, but we opted not to use them because there were boys staying at the hotel for a local hockey tournament and they had pretty much taken over these areas. On a related note, the staff responded quickly to our noise complaints and made their best efforts to quiet the boys, but they were still running/thumping around after 1 am one night! It's hard to say whether or not we were bothered by them due to poor sound insulation or thin walls, but I think it was just that they were being that noisy, as we didn't hear anyone else during our stay.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to others. I found it to be a bit on the expensive side given that we had a basic one-bed room, but that being said, it was clean, well-stocked, and had nice decor. The hotel was easy to find, pretty much next to a SuperStore (grocery store), and close to shops, parks, and restaurants. Don't let the creepy looking run-down building near by scare you, despite its appearance, we didn't see anyone hanging around it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Address: 437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Truro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.