We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Truro - friendly staff, clean rooms, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Truro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Truro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Truro - friendly staff, clean rooms, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Truro was great! With its modern decor and friendly staff, we were given a warm welcome upon checking-in. Despite being about an hour earlier than the posted check-in time, we were given our room right away and were able to settle in.

The room itself was clean and well stocked with towels, pillows, and toiletries (the hand lotion was a nice touch). The microwave and mini-fridge were unexpected, but very handy to have in the room (especially for left-overs from a local restaurant).

The location of the hotel was great - within walking distance to downtown shops, victoria park, and the train/bus station.

We had breakfast at the restaurant both mornings of our stay. The first morning we had the breakfast buffet, and the second morning we ordered off the menu. The buffet was good, but I found it a bit over priced. The items we ordered from the menu the second morning were more reasonably priced. In future I would skip the buffet and order off the menu. We also had desserts one night, which were very nice.

The pool, fitness room, and games room all looked great, but we opted not to use them because there were boys staying at the hotel for a local hockey tournament and they had pretty much taken over these areas. On a related note, the staff responded quickly to our noise complaints and made their best efforts to quiet the boys, but they were still running/thumping around after 1 am one night! It's hard to say whether or not we were bothered by them due to poor sound insulation or thin walls, but I think it was just that they were being that noisy, as we didn't hear anyone else during our stay.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to others. I found it to be a bit on the expensive side given that we had a basic one-bed room, but that being said, it was clean, well-stocked, and had nice decor. The hotel was easy to find, pretty much next to a SuperStore (grocery store), and close to shops, parks, and restaurants. Don't let the creepy looking run-down building near by scare you, despite its appearance, we didn't see anyone hanging around it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    84
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
52
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family and I checked into the Holiday Inn Truro for one night. Upon the initial impression driving up to the front door gives a good impression. The lobby is clean and ghe front desk staff are friendly making check-in smooth. After receiving the room key we were directed to the elevator which was very slow and seemed to have a mind of its own; meaning my wife pressed the button for the 4th floor but it only went to the 3rd floor before heading to the bottom floor. By time I was back from the car with the bags she was still on the elevator trying to figure out if there was another one that goes to the 4th floor but there is only 1 which it pretty small. Another guest on the4th floor said they had the same issue of pressing the button for the 4th floor only to get to the 3rd before being taken only a ride to the basement. We did discover you could get off on the 3rd floor and take the few stairs in the hallway that will access the 4th floor.

The room was clean but a little tight for spacd with two queen beds, a table with a couple of chairs,an entertainment center with flat screen TV plus a cabinet to hang some clothes. There is a mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. The bathroom is basic and relly nothing to write about except the shower had really good presure.

Part of our lower score was related to going to the indoor pool which is part of the games room and exercise room on the bottom level. When we took the kids down for a swim there were no more clean towels. I went to the front desk to ask for more towels which I was told they would have delivered immediately but after waiting 25 minutes they still had not delivered any more towels. I made a 2nd trip to the front to let them know we were still waiting for towels they said the clean towels were coming out of the dryer and would be there in 10 mins which was another half an hour. Another issue we saw were people sitting in the pokl area drinking beer in glasd bottles around the pool area. The final concern was people running and screaming in the halls at 3am waking people trying to sleep. We were told the next day that the police had to remove a person passed out in the lobby in the middle of the night. This was a bit of a concern to us about the security around the building especially during the overnight.

Overall it is a clean place to stay but the rowdy guests and apparent lack of security seems to be a concern to consider.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Pweb44,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spend five nights at this hotel and was impressed by the great friendly service. All employees - front desk, restaurant or bar - were polite, friendly and helpful. Well done ! Food quality was great and prices are very reasonable. Will stay here again if I am back in Truro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

the bathrooms are very small in rooms. very clean and comfortable. my room however had a very small window that was found on the side wall that did not provide adaquate light. staff are very friendly and add value to your stay. Meeting rooms and service provided are very accomidating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I just wanted to commend the staff at the Holiday Inn in Truro. I never usually write reviews but the kindness that was displayed by all staff has prompted me to do so! From the moment I arrived with the front staff, to the cleaning staff, lunch caterers, and staff in restaurant; they all demonstrated genuine warmth and kindness that truly enhanced my stay! Thanks so much for all the kindness from an exceptionally friendly staff!! Glowing reviews!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great hotel, good rate.
good location.
the Staff were all very friendly & the food at the Bistro was very good - the Staff in the Rest. were Super.
Only complaint: cold pool & no water in the Hottub :(
but otherwise would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed one night on the way to Port Hawkesbury. From the moment I entered I knew this was the right choice. They woman at the desk was friendly and pleasant. They immediately acknowledged my Priority Club level and gave me the option of a free drink or extra points. The room was perfect. It was clean and had a large flat screen TV. The bathroom came with all the usual amenities. I ate dinner and breakfast in the attached restaurant and both times I was about the only person there (not a very big tourist spot in January). The woman who checked me out was just as nice as the woman who checked me in. I would definitely make this my half way stop on any trip up north.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Address: 437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Truro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.