We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Comfortable Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Truro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Truro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Truro
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Large Comfortable Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Location - This hotel is nicely located in Truro, easy access to all the conveniences, yet still a quiet area.

The Hotel - although we did not get an opportunity to use it, there is an indoor pool and fitness centre. There is a lounge and restaurant on site. We did not use the lounge, but the restaruant was very good. We had lunch the one day and breakfast the next. It is a little expensive, but there is a good selection of options - and the portions were a good size.

The Staff - were very friendly, and accommodating. We arrived early and they were able to check us in right away.. Very knowledgable about the area and were able to answer all our questions.

The Room - I was traveling with my sister and mother - so got two rooms. We were able to get connecting rooms. Both rooms were very spacious. At first I thought we might have been upgraded, as the rooms were large, with microwave and small fridge - when I inquired it turns out ALL rooms offer these amenities. They also had a flat screen tv. I loved that all rooms were non smoking.

The beds were comfortable, the decor decent and the rooms clean.

Over all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
40
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

There don't appear to be many choices of hotels in the Truro area but even if there were this is the place to stay.

We received a friendly greeting upon arrival and were permitted to check in early (about 2 hours before the "official" check-in time. The room was clean and equipped with all the usual amenities. The heater/air conditioner was a bit on the loud side but that's not unusual for the type of unit that was there. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the large, flat-screen TV was nice to see.

Check-out was flawless as I am a member of Priority Club so the receipt was just placed under our door sometime overnight.

If we ever return to Truro, the Holiday Inn will be our choice again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at the Truro Holiday Inn in November 2011. I was on a business trip in the Truro area and needed somewhere comfortable to sleep, hit the gym and go for a quick swim. The Holiday Inn was my preferred option in Truro. Gov. Rate was 99$ a night so nothing to complain about there. Staff was courteous and very friendly but wasn't bilingual (would have been a nice bonus).

Rooms where spacious, very comfortable and clean. Pool was great and although the gym looked a bit old, there was plenty of weights and exercising equipment. If you can qualify for the CAA or Gov. rate, this hotel is very affordable.

The only down side was the business center which is located right in the main lobby and automatically bumps you out every 15 minutes. Wi-Fi was fast and reliable.

I would recommend to everybody in need of a quiet, silent night in Truro.

Room Tip: Go for their Gov.rate. of $99 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, MN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We left Halifax and drove south to Liverpool and then west to The Bay of Fundy. Our goal was to get to Stellarton that night, but we quickly realized that was too long of a day.

We changed our reservation to Truro and had a very pleasant stay.

The staff was very good, offering many nearby choices for restaurants.

It was definetly up to Holiday Inn standards.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My mom and I stayed here for one night while passing through Truro. This hotel was easy to locate and check-in was fast and friendly. However, this hotel seems very old. The rooms could definitely use an update. They seemed very dark and dated. The hotel also doesn’t supply free breakfast which I thought was strange for a Holiday Inn. Free wi-fi was ok though. Also, there isn’t really anything around the hotel. You definitely need a car to travel to restaurants etc. Overall it was adequate accommodation for the night we stayed, but I would not return for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Nice fairly-new hotel. Free outdoor parking. Our room had a coffee-maker, full bath, free local calls. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. There was a computer in the lobby, free as well. Dinner at the restaurant was good. We would recommend this place(try for the CAA rate).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Check-in was efficient, room was clean and breakfast was tasty!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Address: 437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Truro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.