We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny smell. Old decor. Great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jo-Anne's Quick-N-Tasty

Jo-Anne's Quick-N-Tasty
490 Highway 1, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 4A6, Canada
9027426606
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Funny smell. Old decor. Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Walked into the 70's. Funny old smell like you walked into your friends grandmas house. Had the hot lobster sandwich, fried clams and scallops, and sweet tea. All delicious. Clams were a standout. Juicy and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Decent Food at a Busy Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It is probably not fair to rate Jo-Anne's service -- we were there on the evening after Tropical Storm Arthur blew through town and Jo-Anne's was one of the only restaurants with power in the whole town. Needless to say, they were overwhelmed, with both travelers and locals. I will say that the chowder was very good. The homemade desserts sounded good, but they were out of almost all of them by the time we were there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Day of the Arthur storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

On the day of the big storm, the Quick and Tasty was open, one of the few, and we got a seat and enjoyed a great meal. thanks!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Clams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Best clams for sure. Whole clams in a light delicious batter - worth stopping in for. Family fair. Home made quality. No pretensions. Lots of happy customers. Real diner atmosphere. Charming because it speaks of a few decades past including banquettes and tables - if you have a large group they just take the centre part out between the rows and voila, you are all at the same table basically. Enjoy the throw-back atmosphere. It's fun and tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Fried Clam Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

You may think that you have walked back into the year 1978. The Decor has not changed in over 30 years. I used to come here as a small child back in 1978. The fried clam rolls are amazing. Golden fried clams in a butter toasted long roll is a delight in your mouth. Do not let the decorating detract you from this gym. If you're going to Nova Scotia and you want deep fried clams have them at Joannes. I ordered one for my main meal and when the server asked me for my dessert order I ordered another. They are great. Also try the homemade pie,it hasn't changed in 40 years either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo-Anne's Quick-N-Tasty also viewed

Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
Yarmouth, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Jo-Anne's Quick-N-Tasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jo-Anne's Quick-N-Tasty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.