We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Island Lake Guest Suite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Little Island Lake Guest Suite to your Saves list
Little Island Lake Guest Suite
482 Monck Road | RR#3, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Bancroft B&B and Inns
Stratford, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It was such a pleasure to essentially have the property to oursleves while knowing if anything was needed all we had to do was ring the doorbell! The Moffitts are people who respect ones privacy while ensuring you have all you require to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. I for one GREATLY appreciated the tea, coffee (both instant and fresh ground)milk and cream stocked in the fridge to enjoy whenever we fancied it. Hot carafs of each were delivered each morning with breakfast as well, which was extremely handy to take down to the waterfront so I didn't have to trapse back and forth for refills. Our first morning I awoke early and took my tea and our dog down to the mist covered waterfront. We were serenaded by the loon family who swam right up to the shoreline. It was beautiful. We will most certainly return.

Room Tip: My husband and I are both tall people and although the bed was very comfortable, we found the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroftguestsuite, Owner at Little Island Lake Guest Suite, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
It was a pleasure to host you folks with us and hope to see you again in the future. Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Cynthia has a great concept, a complete private home, equipped with everything you need, attached to her home, but totally separate. Free access to the lake, boat and barbecue in her garden.
Very peaceful. Great breakfast, one of us was allergic to cheese and without asking she provided lovely alternative to enure a balanced breakfast to include protein! The comfort of her guests is highly important to Cynthia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtice, on
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What a wonderful time I had staying at this Bed and Breakfast. Cynthia and Rod welcome you to their home and make your stay a truly enjoyable experience. The suite is adorable and provides you with all the comforts of home. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and so beautifully presented. I enjoyed the family environment, the swimming, the paddleboat and the relaxing atmosphere. The hosts are warm and friendly and can tell you about all the spots in the area that you might want to visit. It was like having a little slice of heaven on earth. I highly recommend the guest suite for a little get-a-way to sit back and relax in a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Little Island Lake Guest Suite, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to get to know you a little bit and share our "piece of heaven" with you. All the best. Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I never got to meet Rod, but Cynthia was AMAZING!! Such an warm and inviting person. My fiance and I stayed at the guest suite just to have a nice night away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and it was such a nice treat to stay here!! The suite was wonderful. A home away from home!! The paddleboat, campfire, and outdoor dining area a true bonus to this guest suite. The breakfast we were served in our suite the next morning was just amazing! Homemade bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit parfait, jams, cheese, yogurt and a great cup of coffee. Cynthia was not rushed to get us out the next day either...she said for us to take our time and relax as much as we wanted to. We hope her and her family have a great summer and we hope to be back again!! Enjoy that lakefront water Tucker!! (Cynthia's Dog)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Little Island Lake Guest Suite, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
It was a real pleaure to host you Brittnee and Callum, We will look forward to your return one day. Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Family
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I don't have anything but positive things to say about this place. Cynthia and Rod are very welcoming people and have an honest desire to make sure you are happy and nothing is too much trouble.

It is a very comfortable suite with full kitchen facilities, lounge area, good bathroom and bedroom.
Breakfasts were amazing, fresh baked bread, fresh fruit salads, yoghurts, coffe/tea, orange juice, waffles and sausages, crepes and fruit, bacon and eggs - whatever you want.

We were touring Ontario on holiday from the UK and picked the Island Guest Suite off trip advisor, as there were a few places we wanted to go to around the area - although not specifically in Bancroft. Cynthia recommended a few things to do in Bancroft which was the lookout and Eagans Chute which we did and glad we did.

The big plus point for us with an 8 year old was the use of the garden, BBQ, fire pit and lake. We went out in the canoes, paddleboat and even braved swimming which was not too cold......all at the end of the garden! We could go out during the day sightseeing and then come back to canoe of the lake to wind down.

Got to canoe with the loons on the lake and heard them calling during the night, a true Canadian experience!

Clean, private, comfortable, great facilities on the lake and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroftguestsuite, Owner at Little Island Lake Guest Suite, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
It was a pleasure to host you. We thoroughly enjoyed sharing our place with and enjoyed your British accents. Your host, Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My Mum and I have just spent a lovely and relaxing 3-day break over the Easter weekend at this peaceful B&B. Cynthia and her family could not have made us more welcome. Cynthia went to extra lengths to make our stay as special as possible - from making up the extra sofa bed, to directing us around the local area and suggesting the perfect activities for us to do during our stay. They were also kind enough to loan us their paddleboat along with safety jackets, so that we could enjoy the 'Little Island Lake'. We were especially touched by the wonderful homemade breakfasts. Only expecting a basic continental breakfast, it was a welcome surprise to receive a mix of fruit salad, crepes, yoghurts and home made bread. They were delicious! The Suite itself was immaculate and the picturesque backdrop was stunning. The kitchenette allowed us to make meals as and when we wanted, but we were close enough to Bancroft to enjoy their restaurants. The local trails and walks were peaceful and beautiful and made for a perfect break from city life, but there were lots more activities to do if we had stayed longer or visited in the height of summer or winter. All in all we had a wonderful break and we would definitely recommend the 'Little Island Guest Suite'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroftguestsuite, Owner at Little Island Lake Guest Suite, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
It was a pleasure to host you and your Mum. We enjoyed getting to know you. Thank you for the kind reveiw. I hope that we will have opportunity to meet again. YOur host , Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I needed a get away and this was perfect. I could go on for quite some time about how much I enjoyed my stay, yet it would only echo all the other excellent comments left by others. I would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Island Lake Guest Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Island Lake Guest Suite

Address: 482 Monck Road | RR#3, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bancroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 STAR LAKESIDE HOTEL ALTERNATIVE: The Privacy of a Hotel; Comfort & Service of a B&B. Located on a quiet lake 5 minutes from Bancroft, our full service, self- contained, guest suite features a queen size bed in bedroom with queen size pull out sofa bed in sitting room, flat screen TV/DVD/CD player, Electric fireplace, fully equipped kitchenette, WiFi Capability and 3 piece bath with cozy robes. Breakfast and Non-Breakfast rates available. Private Entrance. Tastefully decorated using contemporary and antique furniture. Our Guests have full access to the sandy, walk out beach front at the lake, and use of our kayaks, canoe and paddleboat. There is a private dining terrace with gas BBQ, hammock, picnic table and chairs. Also at the waterfront is a fire-pit for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Little Island Lake Guest Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Island Lake Guest Suite Bancroft, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Island Lake Guest Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.