We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Will not return” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Falls to your Saves list
Inn at the Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dominion Street | P.O. Box 1139, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1V3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bracebridge
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible, Will not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I booked a one night stay here in the summer.
We had a room with a balcony in the gables. The room smelled of mold, the built in shampoo and conditioner holders were empty and the room did not feel clean.

We asked at the front desk for any candles they may have as the light on the balcony was broken. The girl at the front desk gave us two candles and the manager got angry with her in front of us. He told her she was not to be giving away their "expensive candles" upon a closer look at the candles on the bottom it showed they were from none other than dollarama.

They would not serve us in the patio or pub because they were due to close in 40 minutes and they had sent the cooks home

the next morning we got to breakfast at the beginning time and the selection was extremely limited. by about 30 minutes in most of the food was gone and they were telling guests that they would not be able to replenish it because the kitchen staff was gone for the day and do all the prep in the evening.

Unfortunately this hotel is in a pretty good location and the price is extremely reasonable for the area. The location is the only thing they have going for it. If you have the money stay elsewhere. We will never make this mistake again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giles A, Manager at Inn at the Falls, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear BTW t
Thank you for your review of Inn at the Falls. After reading your review of our Inn I can acknowledge that since your visit we have made substantial changes to our housekeeping department that has resulted in many great comments about the cleanliness of our rooms.
The front desk stocks many different candles for guests to use in case of a power outage or if a guest would like to add a little ambience to their room and we are happy to hand these out.
We have increased our continental breakfast standard to exceed the traditional offerings. The prep for items such as eggs, muffins and parfaits is done at night as we do not have kitchen staff in through the mornings. The amount of prep is based on the number of people and more often than not we have more than enough for that particular day.
It is unfortunate that you will not be returning to the Inn but I have taken your concerns and addressed them with the staff.
Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    25
    32
    22
See reviews for
34
73
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed over the New Years Eve break for 2 nights in the king room with a fireplace. Room was fantastic. We prebooked the New Years Eve special but realized we couldn't stay New Year's Day for brunch so we had to cancel the package and it was no problem. A lot of hotels could take a lesson or two from the staff at this resort on customer service.

We definitely will be going back in the summer.
Pub had fantastic food Looking forward to many trips back to this lovely Inn.
If you like historic charm, good food, clean accommodations with TV's in both areas (living and bedroom), and excellent location, walking distance to shops and restaurants, you should try this out.

Room Tip: Rooms are only $10.00 more with separate living room with extra TV and a little kitchenette with a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked this hotel on a travel voucher. We stayed in the Mews which does need to be updated however, spotlessly clean! We had dinner in the Pub which was very enjoyable. The old English ambiance of this century old pub is evident at every turn. The Inn has a compelling story and history which made our trip fun and exciting! I would suggest taking a pleasant smelling candle for your room, not that the room smelt bad, but a little closed up. The staff are accommodating and friendly!

Room Tip: Stay in room 105 if you dare! 119 or the end top unit in the Mews, it has a faux fireplace that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We looked forward to staying at this inn because it looked as though it had lots of charm and was situated well near the town.
We asked for the room with the best view and ended up in a room the Mews complex. The room itself was OK but needed a lot of updating. The washroom fixtures were chipped and the paint was peeling in places. The towels were very thin and old, and not enough for drying off after a shower. We did ask for some more and the front desk was very helpful. The view from the room was OK but blocked from seeing the falls.
The main reception area of the inn was very pretty with a lovely breakfast area, and there was a pub downstairs for dinner.
We ate dinner at the pub and were very disappointed with the food. The room was noisy from the TV, and the room smelled very smoky from the fireplaces - all dinner my throat and eyes burned from it. I ordered the trout and it was disappointing - the fish was previously frozen, the rice was cooked to mush, and the vegetables were overly salty.
The next morning the buffet breakfast was laid out nicely in the dining room. There was a fairly good selection, but the coffee was not prepared properly and had coffee grounds pouring into our cups and was tasteless. We did ask the kitchen person if we could have another coffee made, and the second cup was much better.
All in all, the stay was OK, but could have been more enjoyable with more care taken with the meal preparations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was looking for a nice place for a weekend away with my husband in an area we hadn't been to before. I found the inn at the falls, online and it looked perfect and although I was initially put off by some of the reviews I am so glad that I decided to check it out for myself.
The hotel was lovely, our room was beautiful and very clean. The staff were friendly and accomodating.
We had dinner in the pub on site and it was a great evening, the food was superb. I would definately recommend this to anyone and my husband and I plan to return again too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117 in the mews which had beautiful views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even tho it was raining, we headed north for our anniversary weekend away. A king sized suite with a fireplace.. Just couldn't wait. BUT, what a disappointment to find that in our suite the fireplace was broken !!!!!! Then we discovered chips in the bathroom sink & tub plus yucky mould growing up the wall. Light bulbs out, previous client's coffee pouches in the coffee pot. Old toilet bowls lying on the property for all to see. Needless to say Home looked like a palace,and there WE WENT. Never again !!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giles A, Manager at Inn at the Falls, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Marjons84
Thank you for you comments. I am sorry that your stay at the Inn was disappointing. In regards to the fireplace we were told that we can no longer use them as per law and therefore will not be turning them back or using them. We are taking steps to implement other fireplaces to replace all of the ones that we had, Because of this inconvenience we do offer a complimentary upgrade to another room and if available one with a fireplace.

Because of the age of the Inn there are scratches and chips in some of the ceramics on the property we are working to correct this issue and is something that is ongoing. As we discussed upon your check out I have addressed your concerns with all of the necessary departments to prevent this from happening in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked a couple of rooms for my family and my in-laws. We were located in the Carriage House across from the main Inn. Great location close to the centre of Bracebridge with nice views and a quaint pub. The room were both smelled of mildew. We brought some fabreeze which definitely helped. There were spider webs all over the place. The whole place needs an overhaul. A good clean up and some fresh paint would go a long way. New carpets and some re-upholsted or new furniture would help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Falls

Address: 1 Dominion Street | P.O. Box 1139, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1V3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bracebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Inn at the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Falls Hotel Bracebridge
Hotel At The Falls
At The Falls Bracebridge
Inn At The Falls Bracebridge, Muskoka District, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.