We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One Fifty Five

One Fifty Five
155 Manitoba St, Bracebridge, Ontario p1L1W8, Canada
705-645-1935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Bracebridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: No website I can find, but listed in various sites like yellow pages and for a review: http://www.muskokamagazine.com/sitepages/?aid=1815&cn=&an=French%20cooking%20meets%20New%20World%20flair%20in%20Muskoka
Naples Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fancy food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful spot, nicely decorated. Food was good except.....soup bowl/plate decorated with black pepper...and food was really peppery. Service was good but very slow

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food at lunch, brutally slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great lunch food - superb Caesar with grilled chicken and other salads at our table, soup and an order of quiche. Everyone seemed to enjoy the food. Lovely bright room, nice art, etc. Nice impression of the place and the quality of the food. So my "very good" rating is because of the food quality and ambience of the room.

The service experience is another issue. The sole waitress was pleasant enough, but clearly the place can't manage a small lunch crowd. It was not even half full and we waited nearly a full hour for our appetizer - a single shared plate of (very good) sweet potato fries with chipotle mayo. Then another 45+ minutes (after we were finished the fries) for our meals - nothing more complicated than soup, salads and one slice of quiche that looked like it had been in an oven a LONG time. So lunch became basically a 2.5 hour affair when probably 90 min would have been about as much time as we wanted to spend on lunch. We also had 2 older people with us and I know that was a long time for them.

We originally waited a while at the front door by the "wait to be seated" sign and no one looked up or greeted us. Finally another diner said "you should probably just grab menus and sit down" which we did. Lots of other people waited a long time and some eventually just left. Refills on things like water come only when requested. The waitress was working the whole time so it's not that she was hanging around ignoring people, and as I said she was pleasant - they just couldn't seem to organize the food and service to be timely. Talking and visiting over a long, lazy easy meal is fun... but having the meal to eat is a big part of it lol. Sitting for nearly an hour waiting just for a small shared appetizer when you're hungry is not so much fun.

So... nice food, but I would not rush back. I'd only go again if I had a full afternoon for lunch and definitely not when I was actually hungry, like we were on this visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've seen reviews complaining about the service here but our experience was that the one and only waitress had a big job and did it very well. We were never left waiting or wanting but did notice that a few times people came in to wait to be seated and left after waiting several minutes. The waitress needs more help! She was very competent but only one person. Our food was good though we thought somewhat over-priced in proportion to the quality. My companion's steak, ordered rare, was medium at best. Otherwise, the pork and chicken entrees were very much enjoyed. The goat cheese appetizers were good and the Caesar salad was the best I've had. A nice touch is the baked Parmesan cheese and pancetta on top. We didn't have dessert as the meals were quite filling. Coffee was fresh and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Devine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have heard so much about this resturant and we finally tried it last night. We where pleased with the service, food and presentation. Thumbs up.

This place is a must! We should have tried 155 earlier in the season ....we will be back next year during the summer for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food... not so great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were in for dinner early August 2012 and maybe 10 customers in the restaurant..... Food , as always was very good. Service was not good.. very slow.Had the server with the dark long hair been more attentive, she no doubt would have sold us a couple more glasses of wine. ....the little things she forgot , when we asked for water, and ketchup,she forgot and we had to ask again. She seemed busy socilizing with friends in the enterence way of the restaurant. We have had this server before and she is gradually slipping.
We may give it one more try. If the service does not improve, we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Fifty Five also viewed

Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 

Been to One Fifty Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Fifty Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.