We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, mangement was not.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Side Mario's - CLOSED

East Side Mario's
3027 Parkdale Ave, Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food was good, mangement was not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food was good, although a bit overpriced. The place itself was nice, fun atmosphere, lots of TVs. The waitress was ok, but the management was where we go astray. We had a coupon from our hotel for a free app with each entree. The manager did not want to honour it - we had to argue to get it accepted and even then, she didn't take the full value of the app off our bill. Had to argue again...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smiths Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I tried the new york strip not much flavour for 19.99 i could have made better at home my partner tried the hells kitchen chicken which he said was pretty good but the best part of our meal salad and garlic homestyle loaf that comes with our meals .Just way to over priced for our mains .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Restaurant was clean and pleasant decor as are all East Side Mario's. However I must say that the new menu is not health conscious. The salt content in my "Mario’s Chicken Parmigiana" was so high, I could not and did not complete my meal. I mentioned this to the waiter that replied with "well that's how we make it". I asked if it might of been a mistake in the preperation and he replied "no it's always made this way. My wife had "Steak Pepperonata" and she also found it very salty. We mentioned this also to the server. Frankly I used to go to East Side Mario's once or twice a month, but with this new menu, East Side Mario's is out of touch with the new world where health conscious meals are a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Standard East Side Marios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

During our visit the service was quick and pleasant. The menu is standard for these restaurants and the food that we had was quite enjoyable. Dependant upon the meal chosen, hot bread is included, some meals have included either house or caesar salad. Soft drinks are refillable. Good family atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews By the sea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Mario's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing food and great service! LOVED IT! The Bathrooms were clean and smelled nice and the kids had fun wiith the servers which made it easier for us to relax :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side Mario's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.