We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five blocs from BAC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buell St. Bistro

Buell St. Bistro
27 Buell St., Brockville, Ontario K6V 4Y1, Canada
613-345-2623
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 73 Restaurants in Brockville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Five blocs from BAC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited with two other couples in early August while attending a Roy Orbison Impersonator show at the Brockville Arts Centre.
Service was good but tough on the one waitress for a six table room... could have been more staff.. waitress did as good as she could given work load. Menu is reasonably varied fairly priced. Appetizers offer Mussels, Escargots, Salads and a great Clam Chowder ( that night). My wife enjoyed Salmon on a plank and I had a reasonable duck breast dish. Others in our group had Italian Pasta dishes with Shrimps etc. Bread was local and very good. No desserts were ordered.

Brockville has a limited number of good eating places so I feel this is as good as any and better than most for those wishing a little more refined dining experience. The wine list was small and not real sophisticated but priced in line.

Overall a good experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    16
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Oh so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in town to visit the Fulford Place and asked one of the guides where she'd suggest for lunch. What a treat this place is. It is lovely inside, very quiet and delightful. Our food was great, but I have to especially recommend the chilled melon gazpacho!!!!! We'd definitely visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Today we had lunch at this Bistro outside on their terrace.Very pleasant with a large choice of lunch specials on the blackboard.

I had the fettucini with mussels and sautee vegetables in a curry sauce and it was excellent.

My husband had the soupe du jour and sandwich and it was also fresh and very good.

Nice atmosphere on their patio,flowers,tree,lovely.

Will go back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“good bistro fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Service with a smile, my dinner was tasty - salad and salmon with prawns and fresh vegetables/rice. The cherry mango crumble was superb.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Location and Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I went to this place on our way from Ottawa to Toronto.

Maybe it was just me, but I didn't feel that we were really welcomed to this place at first. We had to wait for at least 5 minutes until we got seated, even though the place was half-empty, and nobody said "hi" to us.

Unfortunately, the main room with big windows, cool air and nice view was closed for some reason, so we were seated into a somewhat cramped area, with a big and loud company next to us.

But the food was good, the bill was acceptable, and we liked atmosphere of the place. I would certainly give it another try to see if they improved their service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buell St. Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Buell St. Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buell St. Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.