We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like being at a conference centre alright, in 1985...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville to your Saves list
Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Stewart Blvd., Brockville, Ontario K6V 4W3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Brockville
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's like being at a conference centre alright, in 1985...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

It's 1985, you've been invited to a feed and fertiilzer conference in small town Ontario, you want a bed, food and carpets to slosh your drinks on to. This is your hotel. Strangely, the design details of vast, lounge style picture windows and plenty of brick overhangs suggest a time well before 1985, when this place truly was royal (it's other name is the Royal Brock). Maybe Brockville had a jazzy cocktail scene in the 1970's to rival Vegas? But not now. The rooms and hallways have that classy bleach staleness smell. The bathrooms are tiny and the lowest A/C setting is enough to blow the curtains madly. It was also nearly empty - I think I counted eight lights on in the vast builidng, from outside. When we entered, our family of four were the only humans in site on the whole main floor. The staff were a little creepy too. Any pluses? Well, the place did have a fitness "club" which included decent squash courts. Darn, should have brought the rackets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you experienced while you were our guest. We constantly strive to provide our guests with comfortable guest rooms and excellent service. Please be assured that the issues raised in your complaint have been investigated with all levels of service employees here at the property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    21
    20
See reviews for
20
16
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our stay here was not what we expected.

Upon arrival we noted a very distinct smell of chlorine throughout the lobby and the lower level of the hotel, this smell even permeated into the restaurant!

After checking in we made our way to the single very tiny elevator, only to find a group of some 60-80 people all with luggage ahead of us. Apparently a tour bus / group had just arrived and they had been given their keys in the parking lot ahead of us.

Figuring it was ridiculous that any hotel would send that many people to their rooms at once with only one tiny elevator that could hold 3 to 4 people with luggage on a good day and not wishing to wait we returned to the front desk to inquire “what were we to do”? We were told it was too late to cancel our reservation and move to another hotel as we were already checked in. The front desk told us there was “nothing that could be done but get in line”!

The front desk then also informed us not to come to breakfast until after 8:15 AM as the tour group would be dinning before 8:00AM. Breakfast begins at 7:00 AM; apparently those who occupy some 50 ++ rooms at once get priority! Give the tour group a board room of their own for breakfast would make sense. Inconvenience the rest of the hotel apparently is standard policy at this hotel!

Not willing to leave and pay for the room that we did not use, nor willing to wait for half an hour to finally get on the elevator, we dragged all our luggage up to the fifth floor………..

Breathless and exhausted we arrived at our room. The room was clean and basic with an older model TV and one chair to sit at. The night light in the washroom was a handy touch. The clock was across the room on the desk making it virtually impossible to see from the bed let alone operate the alarm while in bed. The room had a slightly musty smell that caused our eyes to be itchy. With the A/C on the smell persisted but was lessened. The bathroom sink was so low it would be perfect for a midget or a child but a 5’11” adult needed to bend over in a very uncomfortable manner to use the sink! Black disgusting mould was evident in the shower tile grout. There was also no shelf to put shampoo etc. on meaning one had to bend way over in the shower!

The hotel is older and has been refurbished, but not to very high standards. It is obvious the wall paper has been used to poorly cover up defects, already it is beginning to separate from the wall in places.
The hallways have a musty smell and immediately caused our eyes to water and we began sneezing whenever we were in walking in the hallway. No doubt the halls and the lobby are full of mould all carefully covered up during the last renovation.

The walls in the room are paper thin. We could hear the tour group moving about all evening from room to room, this lasted until close to mid night and then began again waking us before 6 AM! The walls are so thin that we could hear the person in the next room snoring throughout the night.

Breakfast was basic powdered eggs, sausages, bagels, cream cheese, toast, yogurt etc. The small room was very crowded when we were there with regular guests. We noted that had we attempted to go when the group was there we would never have found a seat let alone gotten any food!

If you stay at this hotel, be warned; this property caters to groups and not individual or couples. Apparently they count on large groups to pay the bills. All other travellers are of little concern and looked at as a way to top up empty rooms. Individual clients can wait until the group leaves. Individuals have no priority at breakfast or on elevators etc.

It really is a sad business methodology. But profits are profits to large corporations

We departed in the morning exhausted by our restless sleepless night, our eyes red and swollen from allergies. We are totally disgusted by this hotel’s policy to give special status to large tour groups. This was not what we paid for.

Fortunately for us there are other options for hotels in this area. Options which we will surely use should we find ourselves back in this are again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerinBrockville, General Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to comment on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We checked into this hotel as one of the teams participating in Little League's Provincial Championship Tournament. It was listed as one of the host hotels. Because of lack of availability, a number of families were required to check into and out of different categories of rooms over the one week stay. We were first put in room 202 which is one of the only un-renovated rooms in the building. Avoid it at all cost, moldy and dirty. We were then moved after 4 days to 414 which was definitely an improvement, but still had drywall falling from the ceiling and walls. We finally were placed in 502 which was a much nicer room. Had we been put here when we first checked in I may not be so bitter.

Breakfast is described online as a hot breakfast. It really isn't a buffet but more like self serve stations that included scrambled eggs and bagels etc. The food itself was ok but the restaurant dirty. Dirty carpet, dirty utensils (I had to dig through knives to find one without peanut butter stuck to it). The staff in the restaurant were quick to clear tables, but they can only work with what they have. The coffee was terrible, but a hint, run the coffee first without a cup under it until the hot water stops dispensing and you actually get to the coffee.

I walked next door to check out the Days Inn, apparently owned by the same family, and it looked a bit cleaner, but not alot.

A positive for this hotel is the gym facilities attached to it that are operated independently but allow for guest use. As well, it is fairly close to everything in Brockville.

Honestly, I would spend the extra money and book at the Holiday Inn Express, especially if you plan on being in town for just a couple days. Well worth the extra money.

Someone described this hotel as the one time forgot, an accurate description. I am sure in the 1950s or 60s it was a lovely hotel. The owners have failed to invest any significant money into updates.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on 5th floor
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to comment on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Had previously stayed at Holiday Inn Express, which we loved, but that was $150 and we decided to try to save a little money and try the Quality Inn which was $130. Wished we paid the extra $20 as the difference in calibre was dramatic. This hotel was probably quite nice back in the 1960's, but time has left it behind. The lobby is dark and run down and smelt like the pool. Room was a OK size wise, but kind of left you with that itchy feeling from the bedspread. Air Conditioner leaked all over the carpet, which was wet and likely mildewing. Hair dryer didn't work and bathroom had no proper light switch (you had to turn on from the razor outlet) and was a bit small. Lots of brass and decor that was probably installed in the 1980s. Would not bother staying here again as the $20 extra makes a huge difference in what you get for your money. Think this place should have charge $98.00 for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBrock, Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Salski66,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

With older establishments there often is not much room for renovations with square footage so we do apologize for the in-convenience in washroom size. All electrical has been recently checked and it appears that your room fell inline with a faulty breaker. Again our apologies.

We do take pride in our historic charm and yes, are not new and shiny but with the history our hotel holds we hope travelers can enjoy this special gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was our first visit to the beautiful city of Brockville, Ontario for me, my wife and 10 month old son. Being unaware of what to expect of this city and this hotel we were very skeptical before be got there.
Starting with the front desk lady, she was very pleasant and smiling as soon as I walked in to check into the hotel, she had to answer the phone and was well mannered & polite to excuse her self before and after answering the hotel telephone. She thoroughly explained how to get to our room and explained how to obtain the full breakfast that was included with our room.
As we got to our room, the staff had already put a crib for our son in the room, we then proceeded to "check out" the room, we were happy to see how clean the room was and how fresh it smelled, it made our stay much more comfortable especially when you don't have to worry out insects and other critters sharing the room with you, also the stainless steel microwave and refrigerator was a great asset to us for keeping the baby bottles clean (microwave bottle sterilizer) and cold.

Next morning we had showers, the water pressure was great, bathroom and all towels were clean. Breakfast was next, and that was wonderful, we had Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles,bagels, apple juice and coffee.

The only thing that was not available was WIFI Internet connections, and that proved to be the only strike against this hotel as we brought a lap top and ipad with us, however they do offer free high speed internet located in the lobby that is on a desktop computer, which was better than nothing.

This hotel is located just off Highway 401 and conveniently close to a grocery store, department store, LCBO, Beer Store, Restaurants, and downtown, we look forward to staying at this quiet and clean hotel again this summer.

Room Tip: No Wifi Internet, Room 301 is very quiet, vending drink machine on every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerinBrockville, General Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this wonderful review. For future stays the hotel does offer free wireless internet to all guest rooms. To access the internet the front desk can provide you will an access code. We hope that you can take advantage of our wireless internet on your next trip. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Several years ago, I stayed frequently at the hotel. I liked it. Good service, quiet, great recreational spa. It never quite lived up to its name - whether the Royal Brock or "Hotel and Conference Center" but it was a good small town hotel. It has gone so seriously down hill that I will not stay there again. The restaurant and bar are now closed - quite disappointing when one arrives in the evening to discover that no food or beverage is available. The staff is friendly but seem depressed about the state of the hotel. In my room, the smoke alarm went off when I took a bath or a shower. The free hot breakfast in the morning was a morose affair. The food (sausages, eggs) was tepid, the tables were not clean, the staff was invisible and the serving area was dirty. I suspect that a health inspector would have found a long list of violations. I liked this hotel. I have recommended it to friends in the past. But no longer. It makes me sad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBrock, Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
qcquebec ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. As you have seen in the past the Royal Brock can be a wonderful place. Our hotel in currently undergoing drastic changes to better serve our guests and bring our historic gem back to it formal glory.

We appreciate you giving us a second chance and seeing all of the positive changes happening.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We held our daughter's wedding reception at the Royal Brock, Brockville and most of our guests stayed overnight. Staff were very helpful in assisting us in the details of decorating, catering the meal and being available throughout the evening for anything we needed. Our rooms were extremely clean, equipped with towels, coffee etc and very comfortable. There were no complaints.
The hotel staff and management clearly "rolled out the red carpet" for us and for our guests. It was a wonderful experience in every way !

Room Tip: Staff helpful and rooms wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerinBrockville, General Manager at Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. It was our pleasure to assist your family in such a wonderful event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville

Address: 100 Stewart Blvd., Brockville, Ontario K6V 4W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Brockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brockville's most historic hotel featuring 72 well appointed guest rooms, executive suites and conference room and banquet facilities. Sports club with indoor pool, hot tub and sauna complimentary to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Brockville
Quality Hotel And Conference Centre Brockville Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel and Conference Centre Brockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.