We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Travel Back to the Fifties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Clair Restaurant

St Clair Restaurant
69 St Clair St, Chatham, Ontario, Canada
(519) 354-2670
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 126 Restaurants in Chatham
Restaurant details
London, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Time Travel Back to the Fifties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

To step inside the St. Clair is step back into the Fifties. You are greeted by lots of Formica and stainless steel, comfy dining booths with plush vinyl benches and a long lunch counter with well-cushioned round red bar stools.

The walls are covered with lots of Fifties memorabilia, including classic cars with the big tail fins, vintage Coca-cola ads, and old 45 rpm records.

The menu is also straight from the Fifties, with prices so low you'll think you have indeed stumbled over the time-space continuum. There are lots of sandwiches in the five dollar range, Full course meals are in the ten dollar range, with homemade soup, salad or juice to start, a nice meat or fish entree, and a choice of desserts.

A group of six of us came for a recent lunch. We were led to a large table at the back, seated, our orders taken, and food brought out with no delay. Everyone seemed very pleased with their meals and especially with the reasonable prices. There's nothing fancy here, but lots of good solid food that won't break the bank.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great classic original diner with homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We asked around the city for the best value Mom and Pops type restaurant. Everybody told us to go to the St Clair diner at the corner of St Clair and Grand.

The food was great and inexpensive. Everything is home made and it is still run by the original family since the 1940s. Our waitress Marcia was great fun and Cody, the owners grandson made our meal.

We even met the restaurants oldest customer Roy, a second world war veteran, who has been coming here for decades.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Breath of fresh air!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Food was very tasty, minimal wait time, valueable, quantity was definitely there and our waitress was very cute and quick witted, made my husband and I feel like we belonged there, sold us on the perch and steaks, we'll be back again to visit, hope Marcia is working, great member of your staff! See you soon! MJ 2675 xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Place needs a retro fit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The rust stains and worn out sign citing "air Conditioned" off St.Clair and Grand just begs for a sign upgrade. the waitress is friendly and everyone is at home in this 1960s facade of a diner. You want Liver and onions? Salisbury steak loaded with gravy? then come here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service ruined it for me!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Went with some friends for breakfast mid-week so it was pretty quiet & not very busy. Our food was served quickly & was fine. Although our server was polite she never came back to check on us. We had to ask for a refill on coffee (was never offered) & she never brought the water we asked for. Our plates were never cleared. She just sat on a stool at the counter. There was only one other table so she had more than enough time to be attentive. Food was fine but wouldn't go back based on service alone.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Clair Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to St Clair Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Clair Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.