We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge

Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge
22 William Street South, Chatham, Ontario N7M 4S1, Canada
+1 519-354-7818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 126 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: $3 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
East Jeddore, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were staying at the Retro Suites and had free breakfasts at the Chilled Cork. It bright, clean with great serviced. The room was decorated with old movie posters and all the tables and chairs were different styles and colours. Loved the eclectic look.
Best bacon ever, but we had to ask for it well done.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    15
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ailsa Craig, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We live out of town and visited Chilled Cork for brunch today and were quite disappointed in the food. There were 6 of us; one person had the Full English which was quite good and ample, four had the Classic which was good although not ample and the potatoes were rubbery. I had the Mexican Eggs Benny which was a real disappointment. The Full English and the Mexican Eggs Benny were priced the same at $12 but there was no comparison. It was described as 2 poached eggs (they were fine), tortilla (crisp strips only), black beans (probably 2 tablespoons in total), pico de gallo, anco aioli and guacamole (the latter 3 were just a small swirl each upon which the 2 eggs were placed). The server asked if I wanted an order of toast with the Mexican Benny when I ordered which would have been extra but I didn't because anything benedict elsewhere is always ample. What food was there was well prepared but there was just not enough of it. Potatoes are cheap, so why skimp out on them. Maybe the fault was mine in not asking more questions about the dish but I have eaten in alot of good restaurants for brunch and have never had such a disappointing meal. In Chatham, although the decor is amazing I would stick to Churrascaria.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Brosser,

Thank you for taking the time to review us online, we really appreciate your thoughtful insights. We strive to be the best in the industry as service industry professionals; we apologize for any inconvenience this experience has caused you. We would love the opportunity to change your views about the Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge; if you could please contact me directly I would like to see personally to your possible reservation. I truly apologize for your experience and we would really like to make this up to you. Please don’t hesitate to email me at pete@retrosuites.com or call me toll free at 866-617-3876.

Thank you! Wishing you all the best!

Kindest Regards,
Peter Tsirimbis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Re: Conor is THE MAN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped at the bar inside of Retro Suites and it is worth a stop. In addition to all the kitschy works of art and original paintings, and tables of all size shape and colors, and despite Conor the head bartender is missing a 'N' in his name, he is extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about every piece in this mini-museum and of Chatham in general.

The bar is mostly a beer (only in bottles) and wine and liquor establishment. No iced or blended drinks, but they do feature 2 full shelves of Canadian beers. (I went with Alexander Keith's)...fantastic by the way. Perhaps an under-whelming selection, and while it's a quiet place, there is SO much to see and Conor will point out little tidbits about some incredible pieces of art! Be sure to ask about the chandelier of spoons! Kudos to Conor, and the Chilled Cork and Retro Suites. Hoping for MANY continued successes!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for a great anniversary dinner tonight! Chilled Cork is our favorite restaurant for the incredible staff and the fantastic food! Where else would we go on our special night?!!! With a shout out to Conor. Thanks for making the best spicy Caesars. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST breakfast in town!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff. Great atmosphere and decor. And excellent prices and food!! There are so many varieties to choose from and daily menu options.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.