We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinimg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef's Table

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef's Table
397 McNaughton Ave W, Chatham, Ontario, Canada
519-436-0559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 126 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Chef's Table is a casual fine dining restaurant specializing in unique Mediterranean cuisine. Also specializing in Catering, Vintage Wines, Private Parties special dietary needs and The Chef's Mood. The Chef's mood is a four course meal created according to your own individual tastes! You get an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. We ask you about your likes and dislikes and bring you out a creative four course meal totally according to you. For those not so adventurous, we have a full menu that will be sure to impress. We hope to see you soon! Call for reservations.
Chatham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great dinimg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great fine dining place
It can be a bit pricey but food is always good with great service. Lunch is also special there

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rodney ON
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another Chatham surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have saved a lot of grief by following Tripadvisor reviews...if most people like a restaurant, we probably will too. Such was the case this evening when we went to Chef's Table for dinner. The hostess/server was very gracious and friendly. We read how the restaurant is small and gets crowded, so we made a point to arrive early. We also looked at the menu online, so we knew what we wanted when we got there.
My wife started with the Greek salad which came with lots of olives, just the way she likes it. My tomato soup was full bodied, flavorful, and just a hint of spice. My wife was delighted with her pork chop with its maple and apple topping, while my veal parmesan was very tasty as well. Our desserts were as delicious as the main course...it's been a long time since I had Cherries Jubilee. One probably shouldn't judge a restaurant by its coffee, but I find an amazing correlation between the two. Chef's Table has great coffee! The bill came to just over $100 with tax and tip ( including an appetizer), which we feel is about right for a good restaurant.
We liked the wide menu choices because she is far more adventuresome than old meat-and-potatoes me. We liked the nice atmosphere, the linens, the candlelight, the friendly (but not intrusive) service. Our one gripe? The music, while nicely romantic, was just a little loud for quiet conversation.
So, my fellow reviewers have picked another winner, and we concur. People who enjoy good food in a mellow atmosphere will enjoy Chef's Table. Another Chatham surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Try's hard but more off the mark than it should be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tried it out 4 years ago after it first opened and did the Chef's Surprise that was excellent. This time a bit disappointed as the experience did not match what we remembered. We both ordered off the menu and while my wife enjoyed her butternut squash ravioli, my mahi mahi was a bit on the overcooked side and the asparagus too skinny and cool (Chatham is the asparagus capital of Canada). While Mike the owner and chef came out an had an extensive conversation with the one other patron in the restaurant, he did not take the time to say hello and ask about the meal. It was apparent someone was cooking our meal while he was chatting. While the hostess was engaging and helpful, there was an absence of knowledge and engagement with us that we had enjoyed 4 years ago

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went here for valentines day, the menu was limited. I'm assuming that's the normal for special occasions at fancy restaurants.

Only complaint is its very crowded, and small. We will be back though!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I went here for dinner based on a recomendation and absolutely loved it. We both had the chef's choice and everything was great. We definately would reccomend the chefs table to anyone and will be returning soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Table also viewed

 

Been to Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.