We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duchess of Wellington

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duchess of Wellington
Save Saved
You added The Duchess of Wellington to your Saves list
320 Wellington Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1K1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Chatham B&B and Inns
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We're repeat guests. The owners are very accommodating and friendly . The home is spotless and in a good location. You'll find chilled water on ice and a snack in your room upon arrival. Breakfast was very good and the owners were able to arrange an early sitting so we could leave early. We'll always stay here when in Chatham.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very good accomodation to stay over in Chatham, room is in victorian style. In the room there was a welcome snack and chilled water.They serve a super tastefull breakfast, are willing to share recipes, very good coffee. Even it was -20 degrees outside the room was warm. It was the best experience ever in a B&B.

Antja and Rick, Thank you so much for everything

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quiet evening after a week of business in Toronto. We found this B&B to be outstanding.

The entire house was spotless and well decorated with antique charm. We arrived earlier than expected but were greeted warmly, given a tour of the house, and shown to our room. Snacks of pastries and bottled water were waiting for us.

We walked to nearby downtown and enjoyed the small-town shops and restaurants for a few hours despite the chilly spring rain. Upon returning to our room, we slept well in a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast by the fireplace in the morning was outstanding with a variety of local and unique flavors included.

Would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling through the area or looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

From the quiet location near the centre, the Victorian atmosphere, to the gracious and helpful hosts this was one of the best B&Bs we've encountered in our global travels. The Hunt Room was large, spotless and well equipped. During our four night stay we enjoyed varied and satisfying breakfasts made with fresh local ingredients. Complimentary water and baked goodies in our room greeted us at the end of each day. An excellent and reasonably-priced alternative to the local chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On our road tour through southern Ontario, we stopped at this 1896 Victorian landmark B &B, and it was just wonderful! We stayed in the Backstage Room, the largest bedroom, that featured a chiropractic mattress on the 4-poster bed, a Jacuzzi tub/shower with a sky-light, and a north-side view of the Duchess' gardens below. The original features of house were quite something to behold....stained glass windows, curving staircase, oak floors, mouldings and panelling. From the B & B, it is an easy walking distance to down town businesses, and a variety of restaurants and entertainment. The breakfast served catered to your tastes and preferences, and was very healthy to boot. This is a great place to stay when visiting the Chatham area.

Room Tip: Any room in the house is a good choice. We chose the Backstage as it was the largest room available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very warm and fuzzy place to stay. Everything was just as it should be
in a bed & breakfast. Their antique collection is really interesting. The soaker tub
was great. The bed was comfy. The hosts were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is my first stay in a B&B and it was just amazing!!! My colleague and I are here for business and we went out this evening to explore downtown Chatham. When we returned, we noticed so many little details. Andja and Rick had provided little cookies on a tray and left a bottle of water on ice in our rooms.

We decided to explore the house thereafter. On the dining table, the placemats and cutlery were placed to precision, with one China coffee cup on one placemat. Then, I remembered that earlier, I told Andja that I was the only one that drank coffee and my colleague didn't drink coffee.

Staying at the house is like staying in a museum. All the little antiques and artwork are splendid. Attention to detail is the name of the game at this B&B- I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT HERE! I was disappointed to hear that Rick and Andja are selling the business now :((((

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duchess of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess of Wellington

Address: 320 Wellington Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our faithfully restored 1896 Queen Anne mansion offers spacious, comfortable bedrooms with en-suite baths and three large common rooms wrapped in rich paneling and original stained glass. Located on a leafy corner surrounded by century homes, The Duchess is steps from theatre, museums and surprising restaurants in the centre of town, but only 12 minutes from Highway 401. Within a short drive are warm beaches, wineries, sporting opportunities and world famous nature reserves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duchess Of Wellington Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duchess of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.