We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duchess of Wellington

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duchess of Wellington
Save
You added The Duchess of Wellington to your Saves list
320 Wellington Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1K1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Chatham B&B and Inns
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Best B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very good accomodation to stay over in Chatham, room is in victorian style. In the room there was a welcome snack and chilled water.They serve a super tastefull breakfast, are willing to share recipes, very good coffee. Even it was -20 degrees outside the room was warm. It was the best experience ever in a B&B.

Antja and Rick, Thank you so much for everything

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quiet evening after a week of business in Toronto. We found this B&B to be outstanding.

The entire house was spotless and well decorated with antique charm. We arrived earlier than expected but were greeted warmly, given a tour of the house, and shown to our room. Snacks of pastries and bottled water were waiting for us.

We walked to nearby downtown and enjoyed the small-town shops and restaurants for a few hours despite the chilly spring rain. Upon returning to our room, we slept well in a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast by the fireplace in the morning was outstanding with a variety of local and unique flavors included.

Would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling through the area or looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

From the quiet location near the centre, the Victorian atmosphere, to the gracious and helpful hosts this was one of the best B&Bs we've encountered in our global travels. The Hunt Room was large, spotless and well equipped. During our four night stay we enjoyed varied and satisfying breakfasts made with fresh local ingredients. Complimentary water and baked goodies in our room greeted us at the end of each day. An excellent and reasonably-priced alternative to the local chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On our road tour through southern Ontario, we stopped at this 1896 Victorian landmark B &B, and it was just wonderful! We stayed in the Backstage Room, the largest bedroom, that featured a chiropractic mattress on the 4-poster bed, a Jacuzzi tub/shower with a sky-light, and a north-side view of the Duchess' gardens below. The original features of house were quite something to behold....stained glass windows, curving staircase, oak floors, mouldings and panelling. From the B & B, it is an easy walking distance to down town businesses, and a variety of restaurants and entertainment. The breakfast served catered to your tastes and preferences, and was very healthy to boot. This is a great place to stay when visiting the Chatham area.

Room Tip: Any room in the house is a good choice. We chose the Backstage as it was the largest room available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very warm and fuzzy place to stay. Everything was just as it should be
in a bed & breakfast. Their antique collection is really interesting. The soaker tub
was great. The bed was comfy. The hosts were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is my first stay in a B&B and it was just amazing!!! My colleague and I are here for business and we went out this evening to explore downtown Chatham. When we returned, we noticed so many little details. Andja and Rick had provided little cookies on a tray and left a bottle of water on ice in our rooms.

We decided to explore the house thereafter. On the dining table, the placemats and cutlery were placed to precision, with one China coffee cup on one placemat. Then, I remembered that earlier, I told Andja that I was the only one that drank coffee and my colleague didn't drink coffee.

Staying at the house is like staying in a museum. All the little antiques and artwork are splendid. Attention to detail is the name of the game at this B&B- I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT HERE! I was disappointed to hear that Rick and Andja are selling the business now :((((

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Duchess. The owners have justifiably been recognised for bringing this house back to the splendour of it's early days. The interiors are a visual delight, filled with interesting period pieces and spectacular stained glass windows.
We stayed in the comfortable Hunt Room with en suite and found it to be flawless.
The three spacious main floor public rooms are given over to the leisure of the guests.
The breakfasts were wonderful. Antja is a talented cook who provided us with memorable dishes, beautifully presented.
The overall experience was like living in a Victorian museum with the warmth of gracious hospitality and superb food amid a cornucopia of interesting antiques, book and magazine collections and charming period pictures.
My wife and I have had the good fortune to stay in a few of the world's grand hotels. It's attention to details that makes them exceptional and that is what the hosts at the Duchess strive for as well.
If you require top quality accomodation in Chatham - look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chatham Travelodge
Chatham Travelodge
#4 of 9 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#7 of 9 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
16.0 mi away
Oaks Inn Hotel, Banquet & Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duchess of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess of Wellington

Address: 320 Wellington Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our faithfully restored 1896 Queen Anne mansion offers spacious, comfortable bedrooms with en-suite baths and three large common rooms wrapped in rich paneling and original stained glass. Located on a leafy corner surrounded by century homes, The Duchess is steps from theatre, museums and surprising restaurants in the centre of town, but only 12 minutes from Highway 401. Within a short drive are warm beaches, wineries, sporting opportunities and world famous nature reserves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duchess Of Wellington Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duchess of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.