We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duchess of Wellington

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duchess of Wellington
Save Saved
You added The Duchess of Wellington to your Saves list
320 Wellington Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1K1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Chatham B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five Star Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Duchess. The owners have justifiably been recognised for bringing this house back to the splendour of it's early days. The interiors are a visual delight, filled with interesting period pieces and spectacular stained glass windows.
We stayed in the comfortable Hunt Room with en suite and found it to be flawless.
The three spacious main floor public rooms are given over to the leisure of the guests.
The breakfasts were wonderful. Antja is a talented cook who provided us with memorable dishes, beautifully presented.
The overall experience was like living in a Victorian museum with the warmth of gracious hospitality and superb food amid a cornucopia of interesting antiques, book and magazine collections and charming period pictures.
My wife and I have had the good fortune to stay in a few of the world's grand hotels. It's attention to details that makes them exceptional and that is what the hosts at the Duchess strive for as well.
If you require top quality accomodation in Chatham - look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed at!!

We stayed here one night as we were attending a dance competition in Chatham. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we felt like family. It is such a lovely place to stay, the furnishings were very interesting, rooms very well appointed with the most comfortable beds and the breakfast was charming.

The bathroom was very charming, offering Aveda bath products which were wonderful; the tub was so huge for a warm soak after such a long day.

We had our 8 year old with us and they treated her like she was their grandchild. They had a piano in the living area where my daughter practised her piano; she had so much fun just looking around and spending time with Antja; She just can't wait to go back. From all of us, Kelly, Steve and Madison,,,,a warm thank you to Antja and Rick for their wonderful hospitality! We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The house was absolutely goregeous and incredibly clean. We were pleasantly surprised with all the little detailed work in our room and around the house. The antique furnitures and decorations were very interesting. The entire theme of the house made it feel like we were living in a historic castle!

The hosts were extremely friendly. They served delicious breakfast with local fresh fruits. We enjoyed a beautiful and refreshing monring with them and other guests, it couldn't have been more fun.

I would definately recommend this B&B to everyone who's visitng Chatham. The price is slightly higher than a normal hotel room but it is definately worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

If you are staying in Chatham for business or pleasure stay no where else other than the Duchess. Its lovely home to stay and its very clean and peaceful. The hosts Rick and Antja are excellent people and its a pleasure to know them. You will for sure enjoy the excellent breakfast and your stay will be lot more worth than staying in a hotel. I spent there about 9 nights spread over the march and april 2011 and was visiting the CKHA. Mr Rick used to pick me up from the station each time. On a few raining mornings they were so kind enough to drop me at the workplace. Everytime I think of my stay in the Duchess it makes me smile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stay at the Dutchess whenever I am in Chatham, typically twice a year. The rooms are well appointed, quiet, and the beds are extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are large, warm and clean, with soft towels and Aveda bath products. There is great attention to detail (cookies and ice water in the room every evening), an evening tea tray if desired, as well as a comfortable common area for TV watching and reading. The hosts are great, attentive and caring, but giving ample privacy. Breakfasts are wonderful, lunch may prove unecessary as a result. While I have consistently been unable to get the wireless to work, the library is only 2 blocks away, with readily available computers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb Township,Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Form the moment we arrived we couldn't believe the great service. We were helped with our bags. My wife was cold so they made us hot ciders to enjoy. We said we needed extra pillows and the room temperature was cold. When we got back we had the extra pillows plus a nice note explaining that the room temperature was now up. They really seem to care about the guests and that is what makes all the difference. We had a great breakfast, and they are so nice to talk to, without be too intrusive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed for four nights in the Duchess of Wellington and enjoyed every one of them! The tasteful restoration and furnishing of the Duchess has restored it to its former grandeur without sacrificing comfort or convenience. Rick and Andja could not have been more welcoming and the breakfasts were indeed memorable - something we looked forward to each morning. We especially appreciated the way Andja cooked and presented so many locally produced/sourced ingredients while Rick acted as host with a bottomless pot of coffee. Our baked goods, chocolates and bottled water on ice that "majically" appeared in our room - The Hunt Room - each night were also appreciated. Although we were in Chatham to visit my mother who is now in assisted living, I think that Chatham would be a good base from which to visit a number of interesting sites.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duchess of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess of Wellington

Address: 320 Wellington Street West, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our faithfully restored 1896 Queen Anne mansion offers spacious, comfortable bedrooms with en-suite baths and three large common rooms wrapped in rich paneling and original stained glass. Located on a leafy corner surrounded by century homes, The Duchess is steps from theatre, museums and surprising restaurants in the centre of town, but only 12 minutes from Highway 401. Within a short drive are warm beaches, wineries, sporting opportunities and world famous nature reserves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duchess Of Wellington Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duchess of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.